We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Krause Springs Adventure

We were in the area and were very curious about this place. We ended up spending about 5 hours... read more

Review collected in partnership with RCI

Reviewed August 28, 2020
Trek558568
Hidden Oasis

Hidden oasis tucked away in the hill country. Perfect for a day getaway swimming adventure or a... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2020
MistressMandie
,
San Antonio, Texas
via mobile
Read all 263 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Spicewood
from $64.84
More Info
from $70.77
More Info
from $65.64
More Info
from $200.00
More Info
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
114
91
23
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
114
91
23
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden swimming hole rope swing wind chimes slippery rocks natural pool water shoes natural spring day trip picnic tables cypress trees bring your own spring fed swimming pool lower pool the upper level picnic lunch beautiful plants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 263 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2015

We have been to other swimming holes around Austin area and after some research came up with this place . Some Austin locals we talked to had never heard of it and of course never been there . We ventured there into the boonies and were pleasantly surprised. The trees are great but the swimming holes fed by the natural springs is what makes it all worth it. Very scenic property- very TEXAS .

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank stuartg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015

Really nice location. Drove from Houston for about 2.5-3 hours. It was our first visit during summer and it was packed with mostly college kids and some families. the butterfly garden had some butterflies and cool winchimes but nothing spectacular. the man made pools were ok but the natural springs were a delight to see however, the water was the color of mud and because of the crowd, there was hardly any place to camp. Also we spotted a big snake chasing a frog right around the tables where people were eating. I believe that for charging the amounts and with the flow of people, the owners would do a better job of maintaining, keeping place safe/clean specially since we had a 4 year old with us. I gave a 4 star rating for the natural beauty and scenery but maintenance would be average at best IMO. Only Cash accepted with No ATM on site and though we visited for day trip only I have heard horror stories about rowdy and noisy campers overnight through friends but don't know personally to be fair. I would recommend visiting this place at least once but make preparations accordingly and judge yourself.

Date of experience: June 2015
3  Thank ashar g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015

What a great place! Camping available, swimming in a pool fed from natural springs plus "swimming hole" swimming, rope swing, cliff jump, and several waterfalls make this a can't miss place on your journey! It is PRIVATELY owned and the prices are very good as well.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

This is a beautiful little swim spot about 40 minutes west of Austin. The huge beautiful cypress trees let you know you're in the south and the swimming hole is refreshing and fun. There's also a pool, picnic tables, bbq spots and lots of space for you to spread out. It's worth the drive to check out a beautiful swimming hole in central Texas hill country.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Aroha-viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

I had most unpleasant experience at Krause Spring. The staff at the entering who as he told me was the offspring of Kraus family was very rude, uncultured and arrogant. As I did not have cash and debt or credit cards were not expected I tried to see from the parking lot if this place is worth to come back or recommend my friends. I was yelled at and asked to leave the parking lot in 2 minutes despite my 2 year old needing bathroom. Additionally, I was not convinced if it save.

I would not recommend for any person with self-respect.

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank Aglay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Krause Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

I'm sorry for your negative experience at the springs and if our staff member at the office was rude in any way. You are correct, we accept cash only, and we have that information available on the front page of our website. Our staff member should have informed you that there was an ATM at the gas station located less than 5 minutes from the springs.

We don't allow guests onto our property who haven't paid nor signed the release form for safety and liability purposes. Our staff member might have thought you were going to try and enter the property at the time without paying, which is why he probably yelled. Again I apologize if he seemed rude.

There is also a restroom located at that same gas station, had you decided to go there. If you were to pay to enter our property and decided you did not like it or that it was not safe, we would have happily refunded your money.

I'm sad to hear you won't recommend our springs based on your experience with one staff member and the glimpse you had from the parking lot. I hope you change your mind and try to visit us again so you can have a better experience and give a fair assessment of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews