We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but worth it”

Spicewood Vineyards
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Spicewood
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is our favorite Texas vineyard and we've been to a lot of them. A little hard to find but worth it. If you reach the end of 409 you've gone too far.

Unpretentious. Just great wine very reasonabvly priced. Nice outside spaces to sit and enjoy the quiet and the wine. Ask for the merlot. It is to die for!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    18
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience Every Time”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've always had great experiences at Spicewood every time I've gone there. The reds are above average, the setting is gorgeous, the cheese plate is plentiful and the people are kind and inviting. I've gone there twice when it was one hour left until closing and both times I stayed past closing because of the great conversations I've had with the staff. My brothers and I range from novice to knowledgeable concerning wine and they made us feel very welcomed. The tasting counter is a fun experience, but grabbing a $5 glass of your favorite and chilling out on their patio overlooking the vineyard is where it's at. Their $12.50 cheese plate doesn't offer any hard to find cheeses, but it features a lot of variety and a ton of cheese. It doesn't leave you thinking you paid 12 bucks for three bites of cheese, that's for sure. I feel like I've made a new friend every time I leave Spicewood because the staff enjoys what they're doing and they're more than happy to share the joy with you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Won't bother making the trip out again.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Our hostess giving the tour just read the description off the menu to us, and flirted inappropriately to one of her co-workers the entire time.
The wine was boring, and I felt like I wasted my entire day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A nice little surprise”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just off 71, passing by free range cattle is this quaint little I vineyard and tasting room. I was pleasantly surprised by these local wines. No, it's not Napa but, definitely worth a trip into the wilderness.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A new view of Texas wines”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I'm usually pretty snobby about domestic wines, Texas wines in particular. That said, Spicewood winery is making great strides to develop some very nice Hill Country wines. I would suggest showing up on Thursday to avoid crowds. The tasting was inexpensive at $5/person for 8 wines. The fee is waived if you buy a bottle. It was informational in finding out which grapes were raised locally and which varieties were brought in from California or Oregon to form the various bottles. It was also set on some beautiful grounds with a very quaint setting for enjoying the experience. It was well worth the time and we went away with a bottle of Syrah, a jar of jalapeño raspberry mustard, and some mango vinegar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicewood Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Spicewood Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing