We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy margaritas and queso!!!”
Review of Mi Cocina

Mi Cocina
Ranked #13 of 154 Restaurants in Southlake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to Mi Cocina where everything we offer is hand-crafted and made fresh daily using authentic Mexican cooking techniques and the finest ingredients available. You'll love our Tex-Mex menu from our famous, homemade salsa to our mouthwatering, hand-dipped enchiladas. You can taste the freshness and quality in every bite. Relax in our comfortable stylish surroundings with one of our legendary Mambo Taxis® served by our family of warm, friendly and professional staff. It's our honor to serve you!
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Crazy margaritas and queso!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place to enjoy happy hour with amazing frozen swirl margaritas. The queso has meat and is the best we've ever tried anywhere. Entrees are average.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NY2TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    50
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Everything!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

we love this place! it's all good so don't worry - order up! queso - yes please. quacamole - yes please. enchiladas, tacos, fajitas - all yummmmy! oh, and get a mambo taxi - or two - you won't regret it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chinagirl0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex in DFW”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The food here is exceptional. Love everything except the Chimichanga - but I stay away from fried Mexican Food. The Mamas Chicken, con Hongos, Tacos Habana, and Deluxe 57 are awesome. Funny enough - the crispy tacos are among the best I've ever had. Don't know what they do, but a real treat

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellerWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Southlake”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The wait staff and management are so friendly. The food is wonderful. My favorites are Rico salad, Nachos al carbon and Mama's tacos. There premium margaritas are the best. The atmosphere is going to be better with the re do. All around a great dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floridajan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Upscale Tex-Mex”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The restaurant wasn’t crowded and we were seated right away. The hostess was stand-offish and led us to our table without even greeting us. However, our waiter was professional and efficient. He was very familiar with the menu and easily answered our questions about the food and made good recommendations.

It was afternoon, so we ordered off the lunch menu. I ordered the tacos Habana, which are chicken breasts marinated in adobo. I received two tacos in corn tortillas, with extra adobo sauce, raw onion, and cilantro on the side. The chicken was good, and I would order it again. However, my rice was bland. They apparently vary the type of rice you get depending on what you order. White rice came with my meal. Everyone else at the table got orange rice.

The salsa that they served with our chips was spicy, with lots of garlic.

The restaurant is very spacious, with high ceilings. Décor is modern, in black and white. There is nothing about the décor that would tell you that you are in a Mexican restaurant. They did have Spanish-language music playing, though. It has a more upscale feel than many Tex-Mex restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfie_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Mi Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing