We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mi Cocina

Mi Cocina
Ranked #18 of 156 Restaurants in Southlake
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Mi Cocina where everything we offer is hand-crafted and made fresh daily using authentic Mexican cooking techniques and the finest ingredients available. You'll love our Tex-Mex menu from our famous, homemade salsa to our mouthwatering, hand-dipped enchiladas. You can taste the freshness and quality in every bite. Relax in our comfortable stylish surroundings with one of our legendary Mambo Taxis® served by our family of warm, friendly and professional staff. It's our honor to serve you!
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go to spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Above average service and food. Love the drinks. Every now and then service can be a bit slow, but always a good choice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiemprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    49
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“An early adopter that hasn't updated the menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Mi Cocina was one of the early dining options in Southlake Town Center. It is big, crowded, sometimes noisy, and usually with a wait on the weekends. It is a good choice for families and large groups, so if you were expecting a quiet relaxing meal, you should look elsewhere.

Mi Cocina's menu has the usual array of tacos, enchiladas, fajitas, and combo platters. Unfortunately, the menu rarely adds anything new, not even the occasional blackboard special. While you can always get your favorite, that's also their limitation. Not much variety.

Mi Cocina's "cousin" restaurant - Taco Diner - is located on the other side of the center (near the Barnes & Noble). Both are owned by the same company and even some of the menu options are similar. For my money, Taco Diner is actually the better choice.

Service at Mi Cocina is inconsistent. If it is a busy weekend night, expect to be there awhile. The menu is priced on par with other similar restaurants, but seems a bit on the high side for OK, but not stellar, Tex-Mex.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So Yummy!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food is delicious and the drinks are even better! I had the Carne Asada. The ribeye was full of flavor and the rice was a perfect side dish. If you have ever heard of a "Mambo Taxi" than you know how awesome these drinks are. If you have never had one, you best make your way over to Mi Cocina and try one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aklocek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
505 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great location, average food, service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great location here in Southlake, but just average food, service was a bit above average, but still average...when you're in an upscale area, you have to step it up a bit to remain at par! The food was reasonable, and reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalclear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
154 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Best cheese enchiladas around! Salsa is awesome - get your drink before eating though because it's spicy! Haven't had anything that isn't great - food and service are awesome - can't loose at Mi Cocina!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ftworth456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Mi Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing