We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Howard Wang's

Howard Wang's
Reserve with OpenTable
Howard Wang's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 154 Restaurants in Southlake
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went looking for an upscale, non-standard Chinese restaurant and found this one. But it did not live up to expectations at all. The service was mediocre at best and the food, although non-standard Chinese, was tasteless.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssmmrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“UpscaleChinese”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The food is well prepared ,ample portions, and may dishes do not have sugar in the sauce. This is a real plus for carb watchers. The protein in each dish was more than adequate.
Pricing is higher than the average Chinese place but is worth it . The dishes do not appear or taste like "steam table" food.
A strange note is they will not seat parties of less than 6 in the booths,even when not crowded.
We will visit this restaurant often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice decor, friendly service and good food”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The interior decor is sleek and modern and the patio is nicely shaded. Service was prompt and friendly even if our server obviously was promoting specific items. The food was good but not unique enough to differentiate it from other chinese restaurants.
Our server promptly brought complimentary fried wonton strips that were crispy and fresh. I had a cup of wonton soup. It had two pork filled wontons, a shrimp and plenty of greens. The broth was flavorful and not too salty. For the main course I had moo shu pork. The dish was very similar to others I have had. I elected the fried rice which was just OK. The others in our party had crispy beef and a noodle bowl. Everyone liked the food and the portions were very large. We had plenty to take home and our server included fresh cartons of white and fried rice. Prices are about average for what we ordered.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frankleo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and decor. We love this place. The flavors are the best Chinese food since London!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is great all the way around. The waiters are extremely like able and the food makes your mouth water!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthlakeLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very upscale, nice eatery”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went here for a girl's night birthday celebration. The restaurant is beautiful, very inviting and not at all what you think from the outside. I wasn't even sure it was open yet. We had a large booth and it was a little tight, a bigger table would have been nice but we managed just fine. I echo the fact that the staff is still acclimating themselves. Our waitress took drink orders and I asked her to give me a few minutes. She forgot to come back for my order. She did make some suggestions for dinner which were very good. Our food came, looked great but was warm at best. The food was delicious. This place has such potential but people don't know it's there, they really need to find a way to get the word out. Some fine tuning and it could be a great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingirlnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard Wang's also viewed

 

Been to Howard Wang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing