We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth Your Time”
Review of Mi Chula's

Mi Chula's
Ranked #35 of 154 Restaurants in Southlake
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Boyd, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not Worth Your Time”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not what I expected, this is more like a fast food restaurant than anything else. You order at the register when you enter, given a number and drink cup to get your own drink, unless it is beer. The chips and, wonderful, dip is brought to the table, when your food is ready it is also brought to you. We had the Enchiladas, one beef and one cheese, with New Mexico Red Chile Sauce, rice, black beans, it was good, but for the price, not that good. The atmosphere was very Spartan would I go back, NO, not worth the money, two meals and two beers over $35.00.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B52Gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Mi Chula's has to be one of the BEST midrange Mexican restaurant! First of all, you order your meal at counter and they deliver your food to your table. They do not offer full table service.

What they don't offer in table service, they make up in many areas. 1) Friendly -- this is one of the most friendly restaurants I have EVER been at. 2) Quality food and drink. I have NEVER had a bad meal at this place. They also have fantastic margaritas (both frozen and on the rocks!) They have a varied and large Tex-Mex menu that we have not bored of...

They deliver the food quickly to your table, hot and is as good as many higher end Mexican restaurants. This is a no fuss and no drama kinda place that makes your meal enjoyable with the family and friends. The décor is comfortable and clean. They have an outdoor patio that is also nice to sit when the weather permits.

My only compliant is that it get noisy when it fills up, which is the case in most restaurants that don't have noise reducing curtains or walls.

As the title indicates above --- you can not go wrong with this restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickRawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very good food, a little pricey”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with other reviews. The food is very good, from the fish tacos to the tortilla soup to the salads. The salsa and thin, non-greasy chips are excellent. But it's also true that for the price we paid, it's more of a sit-down place. We had a group of 5 and a round table would have been nice for conversation. For some reason, the chairs also left me feeling very short as the table came up to chest level. Leaves the impression you're a 5 year old. Booths and outside eating areas don't seem to have this issue. All in all, we would go back again. Quite a few families there, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Chips/Salsa/Mexican in Southlake”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My favorite Mexican restaurant in Southlake. They have awesome fresh, thin, tortilla chips, and the best salsa around. My favorite brisket tacos too! They are in Southlake Town Square, but across the street from the main mall area, across the parking lot from Nordstrom Rack. If I am being totally honest though...they have terrible pre-mix margaritas. Skip the calories and disappointment. Lol.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank momtomonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for Mexican food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Only place that ive found in the area that has real enchilada sauce, not tex mex wolf brand chili but im sure they do have it. Food is great and order the margarita by the pitcher. Salsa has a nice smokey kick. The only complaint i woud have... The chairs are dirty. This place is fast casual. Has a nice out side area as well. Staff is also very attentive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallastx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Chula's also viewed

 
Southlake, TX
 

Been to Mi Chula's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing