We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Size Portions, and Flavorful”
Review of Kobeya

Kobeya
Ranked #88 of 154 Restaurants in Southlake
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Size Portions, and Flavorful”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family loves Kobeya, the hibachi grill is our favorite. Its close to home and the food is good. We all get the fried rice with our meal which is good not over salted with soy sauce. The dinner portions are a nice size, and food is fresh. THey also put out a 20% of entire check coupon in the home delivery magazine. Which is nice . Service is good as well.

Will return

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebnDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas, United States
1 review
“Horrible service!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The waitress royally messed up our order (happy hour $5 glasses of wine were $7 and $13, charged for extras she said were included etc) and when we brought up the bill she comes back from talking to the manager and says "Ya, those weren't happy hour. Sorry." Since we asked about whether the glasses were happy hour before we ordered we asked to speak to the manager, she was a little rude and reduced one glass from $13 to $7. Well, still not the $5 we expected but we also noticed the overall bill was higher now. When we asked what happened it turns out that they added gratuity to the bill after that!!!!

Are you kidding me?! We were fuming now, they finally fixed the wine but we refused to pay the gratuity after all that. It was a simple mistake that could have graciously been fixed with good customer service and I would have still tipped my typical 25-30%.

Needless to say that waitress learned a lesson, management got an earful and I doubt I'll be going back to Kobeya.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok Sushi”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The sushi that I ordered was just ok. Maybe I ordered the wrong kind but the miso was watered down. I think I'll try the other sushi restaurant when I return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick4734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They didn't know what sugar free meant??”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I prefer vinegar and oil if they don't know if the dressing is sugar free but they said they didn't have vinegar and oil....... Really sushi hibachi and no vinegar and oil in the house?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Relocations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hibachi grill”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great show, very generous portions. Worth a trip again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobeya also viewed

 

Been to Kobeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing