We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood & Awesome Staff!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daddy's Seafood & Cajun Kitchen

Daddy's Seafood & Cajun Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Seafood & Awesome Staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I must say that I was impressed with the Seafood Platter. It comes with large amounts of fresh seafood that could feed at least 6 people. The menu states that it could feed 2 to 4 but that's an understatement. The wait staff was awesome. Very welcoming and attentive. The frozen margaritas were pretty tasty. I really enjoyed this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monstaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    170
    85
    34
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, TX
Level Contributor
211 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Big disappointment.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I ordered the mojo de ajo fish 'cause I'm a garlic abuser. I also asked for fries instead of white rice. The side salad with caesar dressing was excellent.

I wasn't disappointed when the plate hit my table and I saw a huge pile of minced garlic, chopped onion and chopped tomatoes covering the blackened fish. Very disappointed to see battered fries though. Yuk. I was excited about the fish, that is, until I tasted the pile.

The garlic was crunchy and bitter. It was barely cooked. I'm pretty sure the chef doesn't eat garlic, or he/she would know how to cook it. The fish was perfectly cooked but had very little blackened seasoning. It was underblackened.

I sent it back and ordered fried shrimp. They were excellent, but they were not what I would call 'Cajun.' I travel south Louisiana very frequently, and they fry fish and shrimp in a light corn flour batter. The shrimp here are more island style. They were really good though. The fries that accompanied the shrimp were undercooked and mushy, and battered, and awful.

My daughter ordered blackened chicken alfredo. The alfredo sauce was superb, but the pasta was a little thick to be fettucini. The chicken, however, was thick, very dry and bland. It was pretty awful.

Find an alternative.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1twangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WEIRD NAME BUT GREAT PLACE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I can't imagine why this restaurant has this name, but don't be fooled; it is terrific. We didn't know what to expect going in, but the food is wonderful. Big portions, freshly cooked and professional staff. Don't miss this one. It was very crowded and loud when we were there around 6:00, but the staff handle crowds very well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lonestargal360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Save your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Seems like a great place to drink and watch the games. Food was below average and the service was horrible when the place was empty. SMH

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank busybody69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food with great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The food was excellent and the prices were good for the type of food we ordered. Great service and very clean. Could not have been any better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daddy's Seafood & Cajun Kitchen also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Daddy's Seafood & Cajun Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing