We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique dining experience in padre”
Review of Shrimp Haus

Shrimp Haus
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Shrimp Haus Restaurant features gulf views and great food. With 101 ways to eat shrimp, plus steaks, seafood, burgers, pizzas and more, all served in a family-friendly environment, the Shrimp Haus is well-known for its diverse, reasonably priced menu. Boasting the Island's best margaritas and featuring live entertainment most evenings, the Shrimp Haus is open year-round. Located adjacent to the Schlitterbahn Beach Resort and Waterpark, the restaurant caters to a wide array of guests. Signature dishes include Coconut Fried Shrimp, Lobster Burritos and Fried Ice Cream.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is Schlitterbahns restaurant located in the park. The food is very good and of course they specialize in all varieties of shrimp cooking. They have a huge salad bar and also serves mixed drinks. This place is usually not busy due to its location on the end of the island. It is worth a try especially if shrimp is your passion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Russell,
Thanks for the review of the Shrimp Haus and glad you enjoyed yourself!

Fresh, local caught shrimp may be our specialty, but as you noted we also sport one of the largest salad bars on the Island, serve burgers, steaks, pizzas and sandwiches in an environment that is family friendly and overlooking the Gulf of Mexico....and yes, you can get your favorite "adult beverage" too!

Even during the waterpark's busier summer season, the Shrimp Haus has it's own parking and waterpark admission is not required to enjoy the restaurant. Guests can even sit outside if they wish on our large 2nd floor deck and enjoy the seabreeze or catch some of the action below on our world-famous inland body surfing ride, the Boogie Bahn.

Hope to see you down again real soon!

Thanks,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 279 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Good food and price are reasonable. The water park was not open so few people go there but their food are really good.

Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thanks for the kind words about the good food and glad you enjoyed yourselves.

People from all over the country are discovering the variety of offerings we have in addition to dozens of shrimp options.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Heard a lot of good things about it and the coconut shrimp was just so good ! But our waitress Maira wasn't very friendly she didnt look like she enjoyed being there she just made our vusit uncomfortable

Thank Brianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Shrimp Haus experience and yes, the coconut shrimp is something that has become a favorite of many of our Guests and is one of our specialites!

I am disappointed in your interaction with one of your staff as we pride ourselves on going above and beyond and exceeding Guest expectations. The experience you had is something we take very seriously and I sincerely appreciate you bringing it to my attention.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and if you are looking to try something new next time, may I suggest our Pecan Crusted Shrimp or Shrimp Enchiladas next time? mmmmm,good!

Thanks again,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant with high expectations in that it has Schlitterbahn's name attached to it and I have always liked Schlitterbahn products and attractions, but this one didn't meet the mark. For the prices you would expect better food. Everyone in our party agreed and we all had something different so it wasn't just a particular dish. In fact my son who had the shrimp pizza said Dairy Queen would have been better. How can you screw up a pizza?

Thank lowemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. Sorry you didn't not enjoy your meal more as we always strive to exceed Guest expectations, not simply just meet them. We hope you are able to come again and try many of the diverse options we offer and review again.

Thanks,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We decided to stop by the Shrimp Haus on one of the coldest days last week. Service was very good, they even had heaters setup to take a bite out of the cold. Friendly staff, good food selection. We had the Po'boys (I had shrimp and fish, my wife had fish, shrimp and oyster).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wpgrailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for the review and nice comments.....quite a few of our Canadian friends have been posting reviews lately and we appreciate each and every one...

Yes, we did experience a much colder winter than normal (even if it is a heat wave compared to the Canadian temperatures), and we do what we can to enhance the customer experience.

We look forward to your next visit and if you are Winter Texans, safe travels until we see you again next fall!

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Haus also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shrimp Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing