We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just So So”
Review of Shrimp Haus

Shrimp Haus
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Shrimp Haus Restaurant features gulf views and great food. With 101 ways to eat shrimp, plus steaks, seafood, burgers, pizzas and more, all served in a family-friendly environment, the Shrimp Haus is well-known for its diverse, reasonably priced menu. Boasting the Island's best margaritas and featuring live entertainment most evenings, the Shrimp Haus is open year-round. Located adjacent to the Schlitterbahn Beach Resort and Waterpark, the restaurant caters to a wide array of guests. Signature dishes include Coconut Fried Shrimp, Lobster Burritos and Fried Ice Cream.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
281 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just So So”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant with high expectations in that it has Schlitterbahn's name attached to it and I have always liked Schlitterbahn products and attractions, but this one didn't meet the mark. For the prices you would expect better food. Everyone in our party agreed and we all had something different so it wasn't just a particular dish. In fact my son who had the shrimp pizza said Dairy Queen would have been better. How can you screw up a pizza?

Helpful?
Thank lowemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. Sorry you didn't not enjoy your meal more as we always strive to exceed Guest expectations, not simply just meet them. We hope you are able to come again and try many of the diverse options we offer and review again.

Thanks,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    60
    48
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience for Cold Weather”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We decided to stop by the Shrimp Haus on one of the coldest days last week. Service was very good, they even had heaters setup to take a bite out of the cold. Friendly staff, good food selection. We had the Po'boys (I had shrimp and fish, my wife had fish, shrimp and oyster).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpgrailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for the review and nice comments.....quite a few of our Canadian friends have been posting reviews lately and we appreciate each and every one...

Yes, we did experience a much colder winter than normal (even if it is a heat wave compared to the Canadian temperatures), and we do what we can to enhance the customer experience.

We look forward to your next visit and if you are Winter Texans, safe travels until we see you again next fall!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimli, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coconut Shrimp to die for”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love this restaurant overlooking the Gulf, they claim to prepare shrimp 102 ways, my 2 favorites are coconut shrimp and tequila shrimp, have been going for years and never had a bad meal. The décor is wide open area, beachy feeling, probably due to the waterpark. I am a Winter Texan, so have no idea if it is crowded or noisy in summer in winter it is great, and entertainer is good although we do miss Leslie.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorothyo436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for the kind words...the tequila lime shrimp is one of my faves as well....we are very popular with the Winter Texans as well as our summer visitors and of course, the Shrimp Haus is open year-round and you need not be going to the waterpark to enjoy the food.

Of course, during our summer season when the outdoor park is open, the terrace seating is very popular as diners enjoy watching not only the Gulf but have a birds-eye view of our Boogie Bahn inland surfing ride where you can watch Guests try their skills on the waves.

If you enjoy our live entertainment, visit our website, www.schlitterbahn.com/spi often to watch for dinner shows and other dining entertainment shows we are doing.

Thanks again for the review and nice comments....we'll see you soon!
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent shrimp”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great service, excellent shrimp. Simple salad bar, but it was tasty & nice to get some greens. Kids didn't care for their pizza; it did taste a bit unusual. Very reasonably priced meals. The restaurant is a bit dingy and dated. Would definitely recommend if you are a shrimp lover!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for your comments and as a top contributor on Trip Advisor your comments are even more respected, valued and appreciated!

Assuming you are some of our Winter Texan friends from Canada, we thank you for making South Padre Island your temporary home.

Fresh shrimp, straight from the Gulf, makes all the difference!

Fresh, tasty greens from our large salad bar are always a great way to start off your meal and we look forward to your next visit to the Shrimp Haus.

Thanks again,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle, MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Monday night "all you can eat"”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Being a big guy, I love "all you can eat nights", Salad bar was OK...lettuce was really fresh/crispy, blue cheese dressing kinda' bland, but salad bars are salad bars. Service was QUICK...and servers stayed right on top of me...I did not have to ask for more, they brought seconds and thirds without a nod. Fries and hush puppies with the shrimp...good. HUGE meal and I got out the door, tip included, for $15!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPCEDARLAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Our signature all-you-can-eat fried shrimp is one of the reasons we are known as the "go to" spot for shrimp on South Padre! Glad you got your fill! May I suggest that on your next visit you try one of our nearly two dozen other varieties? Peanut Butter Shrimp, Pecan Crusted Shrimp, Coconut Shrimp, Shrimp Enchiladas, Chipotle Shrimp, etc....top it off with our Fried Ice Cream (enough for two!!) and you will be set to go! Thanks for the review and we'll see you soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Haus also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shrimp Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing