We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For shrimp lovers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shrimp Haus

Shrimp Haus
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Shrimp Haus Restaurant features gulf views and great food. With 101 ways to eat shrimp, plus steaks, seafood, burgers, pizzas and more, all served in a family-friendly environment, the Shrimp Haus is well-known for its diverse, reasonably priced menu. Boasting the Island's best margaritas and featuring live entertainment most evenings, the Shrimp Haus is open year-round. Located adjacent to the Schlitterbahn Beach Resort and Waterpark, the restaurant caters to a wide array of guests. Signature dishes include Coconut Fried Shrimp, Lobster Burritos and Fried Ice Cream.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For shrimp lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

While they have a little of everything and those that do not care for seafood will have no problem finding something on the menu, this is the place for shrimp lovers! Food was delicious! They brought my husband the wrong entree and had to rebook his food. They did comp it without us even having to ask. Server was on the poor side and they weren't all that busy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Shrimp Haus and taking the time to post your comments regarding your meal. Yes, we offer a wide array of dishes from the Island's best salad bar to pizzas, burgers, steaks and sandwiches. Of course, our award-winning shrimp dishes are what we are known for and we strive to exceed customer expectations every time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.....I would suggest saving some room for our homemade Fried Ice Cream next time...big enough for two, it is the perfect indulgence after your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    60
    47
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saturday supper @ Shrimp Haus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Extreme walk from handicap parking to restaurant but nice atmosphere, easy listening to live music. Only two other tables occupied....odd for time and day. Language barrier with nice waitress resulted in wrong order, quickly resolved. Shrimp tough, veggies strange, price ok w/entrée special. Not a keeper for us but hear it's new so maybe it will get better..... hence "average" rating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calico9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Was really looking forward to dinner here. Off season so seating was immediate. Waiter was nice. Their specialty is shrimp meals. My shrimp Alfredo was just tasteless. No spices, no seasoning. The shrimp bisque was good but the "drunken shrimp" was awful. The salad bar was great. I wouldn't recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We appreciate your visit and am disappointed to hear your experience did not meet expectations or reflect the standards we demand of our staff. We certainly hope you will stop by again and let us change your impression.

Thanks,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had lunch here while playing at Schlitterbahn. It was a wonderful way to relax after playing in the sun and water. The coconut shrimp is delicious. Food is really good and the prices are surprisingly reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks Karen for taking the time to comment on your recent to our Shrimp Haus visit.

The Coconut Shrimp is probably the most popular "alternative" shrimp we have...and we have dozens of varieties! Glad you enjoyed the taste and yes, we make a point of keeping the prices family-friendly.

Hopefully, you are able to stop by and see our live entertainment featuring Larry Battle when is playing Wednesday - Saturday evenings.

The Shrimp Haus is open-year round so we hope you come again to see us even if you aren't here visiting the outdoor waterpark (of course, the indoor, heated waterpark IS open year-round).

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
“Great place for seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant is in the water park which was a distraction . Friendly staff and bartender. Bartender made a jalapeño margarita for my wife that was out of this world.
Food was great! Fried shrimp was plentiful and large portions were served. Entertainment was good . Will go back to restaurant on next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray02rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your comments and taking the time to review your visit to the Shrimp Haus.

Locally purchased shrimp from the fishermen (and women) ensure quality and freshness, plus the entertainment and view are great too.

You also have my mouth watering for a jalapeno margarita....mmmm....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Haus also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shrimp Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing