We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, Grapevine Café’s original owners created a simple restaurant offering breakfast and lunch favorites from traditional Mexican and American recipes. Under new ownership since 2006, the Grapevine Café has grown considerably in concurrence with the beautiful and surrounding city of South Padre Island, Texas. In many ways, we are still that casual eatery that serves delicious, simple and affordable food. Today, our menu boasts a greater variety of choices. We have added healthier menu items that are vegetarian and gluten free. We also offer a full line of gourmet, freshly ground coffee drinks and teas from our popular espresso bar. We take great pride in serving food that is made in-house, fresh and daily from proprietary, authentic recipes.
Festus, MO
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Breakfast is very good here. Service was a little slow, but not too bad. The pancakes are sweet and fluffy. The french toast was also good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amberghini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    158
    67
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
“Big Improvement!!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I are from Austin, TX and we own a Condo at Gulfpoint Condominiums on the island. We have been coming to the Grapevine for a few years now. We make it a point to go there for breakfast atleast once everytime we go stay at our place. I love their giant Loco Taco. It is so good. The service had always lacked and was leaning to poor. BUT...that has all changed. My wife and I went there the week of Thanksgiving to enjoy the holiday on the beach. We went there for breakfast and I was really excited at how much the service has improved. I had to pull the Manager (Dora) aside and give her kudos. The smile on her face was priceless. She told me she was happy to hear that because she been trying real hard to improve customer service. I told her she "great job". Great food and yes...great service now. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
“Breakfast and Lunch”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It feels so good to get back to South Padre Island and be able to start my day with breadfast or lunch at the Grapevine Cafe. The food is consistently good and the staff are very efficient and friendly. There are many things on the menu that we like and have never had a bad meal. My husband loves the tacos and really looks forward to the next time he comes to the Grapevine. Our first visit this fall after returning to the Island felt like a homecoming.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Mayo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and very friendly staff especially Dora!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice place, the best pancakes ive eaten in Texas! Very friendly an helpful staff. Loads of knowledge about the area and Island. Fast internet connection. I'll be back :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eamon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great little cafe. Clean, bright, and open at 6:30, earliest on the island. Coffee's good. Biscuits are delicious. Waitstaff is friendly and helpful. I like their motto- "Sit... Relax... Gossip."

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing