We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McDonalds - only texas style”
Review of Whataburger

Whataburger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
moira NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“McDonalds - only texas style”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

McDonalds gone Texas! These do not exist in the Northeast US and are on every corner in Texas so we had to try... . Decent fast food with a better variety of entrees /meals than McD and service in your seat! If you have never been to this chain its worth it if for no other reason than to hear the local help greating customers with "Weeeelllcome to Whataburger"

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    38
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
380 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Like the McDonalds of the South!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Tried Whataburger a few times since we've been in Southern Texas, and find it to be a cut above McDonalds, in service, customer appreciation, and quality if food. The burgers were very tasty, although a bit salty for my liking. Portions are large, so you get good value for your dollar. Very clean and very friendly/ helpfull staff. We ordered our food, and they bring it out to you when it's ready. Not bad for a fast food place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMbTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at W and we are converts. We were most impressed by the friendliness and good manners of the team. The food was fresh and hot. We had the bacon cheeseburger meal and the whataburger meal. Both came with "Medium" fries and drink. Anywhere else these portions are large so beware, plenty of food here. If you have a smaller appetite consider sharing. Loved the chopped lettuce and onions, much easier to eat than the big leaf or whole rings. Will try a shake next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HalleGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
399 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Fast food a bit better then McDonald's”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Watta burger in South Padre has been renovated so it's very clean. The service is rapid and they understand your order contrary to the other fast food of the island. The hamburger meat is good but the bread is like one reheated in the microwave. I have a hard time with that.

The onion rings are not crispy and very greasy compared to other places. It's a fast food and you get hat you pay for. A meal deal is about 9$.

The place is very popular though so alot must consider it worth the price and good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregturcotte
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great service and food. The place was very clean. One of the better Whataburgers we've been to. The staff was very friendly, bringing the food to the table and picking up trash like a full service restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gregturcotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whataburger also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Whataburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing