We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fast food, Texas style”
Review of Whataburger

Whataburger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“fast food, Texas style”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you have to have some fast food and haven't tried Whataburger put it on the list. This jem was born in South Texas with the first one opening up just about 100 miles north of us in Corpus Christi way back when. Definately better beef than the other places on the island. Longer waits than tradition fast food, which I alwasys though could be taken as a good sign as stuff always seams fresher from whataburger.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kytsrfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    38
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waupaca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always good!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have been coming to the island for 30 years and this burger stays the same. It is the first meal whenever we get here. Can always count on it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“"Where's the egg"???”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The worst breakfast tacos ever! We ordered 4 sausage, egg & cheese tacos. Upon receiving the order, the taco's were f l a t ! There might have been a 1/4 of one egg in a taco - really. The female manager didn't even think that was a problem. Wow!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank seejules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Isabel, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I like that it is open 24/7. Quality and freshness is awesome at this location. Preparation of the food excels.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariachi_chick956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“DO NOT EAT HERE!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

One night we went through the drive through here and waited for forty-five minutes for our food. To top the wait off, the workers at this place were beyond rude that we were even upset at the wait!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hailee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whataburger also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Whataburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing