We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly open air restaurant.”

Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly open air restaurant.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

First visited this restaurant in June for lunch and found it so good we returned the next day for dinner. I've raved about the fried shrimp ever since. We returned to SPI today and couldn't wait to visit again. It didn't disappoint. One tip though, If you go at dusk be prepared for the Mosquitos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    133
    45
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fulshear, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Patrons”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped in for an early dinner and hit it just right - everyone was leaving and those that stayed were really friendly. The Cafe is outdoors and smoke free, which is fabulous. If you order margaritas order the top shelf version as they are made fresh and are marvelous! We had grilled red snapper which was good but a bit heavy on the seasoning salt - I had to scrap mine off in order to taste the fish. Everything else was good and we are going to try this place on our next visit for breakfast as their entrees look scrumptious. A nice find and a must visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winebibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cafe on the Beach at the Palms Resort”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Café on the Beach is a small al fresco café that probably seats less than 30 or 40 people. When we were there, the weather was awesome and the restaurant was very good. While I ordered an oyster basket, my wife ordered the shrimp basket and we both got their house made potato chips. We shared each other's food, of course. Living in Houston, we often have fried shrimp and oysters. I must say that I think the Café on the Beach had the best fried shrimp and oysters we have ever eaten in a restaurant. The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating was that the menu was fairly limited. What we ordered was definitely excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank biged00200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast we've ever had...hands down!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

When in SPI, you MUST eat breakfast here....it's amazing. My husband and I both ordered Eggs Benedict, his with Canadian bacon, and mine with sautéed spinach and avocado. Although the prices were higher than most breakfast restaurants, you get what you pay for. The atmosphere was lovely, as the seating is outside near the pool area of the Palms Hotel, with the ocean as far as the eye can see. I would absolutely recommend eating here to anyone visiting the island, and will definitely be going back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nursemisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great view right on the beach, with a swimming pool where restaurant guests can relax before or after eating a nice meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Manager at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Café on the Beach! We hope to see you again when your plans bring you back down the Valley to South Padre island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing