We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kohnami Restaurant

Kohnami Restaurant
410 Padre Blvd Ste O, South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-2446
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great Sushi and atmosphere. Wait staff was very pleasant and knowledgable about the menu. A must if you are hungry for sushi while visiting the island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dophingrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
“Don't blow your nose 3 times while making our food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well, where do we start? Came in on vacation for a nice meal. Sat at the hibachi grill and they had one hibachi chef so service was SLOW! During the chef preparing and cooking our food, he paused 3 different times to blow his nose!!!! DISGUSTING! Not once did he wash his hands, just picked up the utensils he was using on the food and kept on cooking. Then once he finished the food, he stuck a fork on my daughter's plate and took chicken off her plate and then put it on another person's plate that wasn't with us!!!! Absolutely not worth the money and I immediately got sick upon finishing what I ate. I was in the bathroom sick before we even paid out! Also, we were told that the kids hibachi came with a drink and when we got our bill, they charged us $2.95 for her tea that was very weak and watered down to begin with! We told our server we weren't paying for it and she said she had spent 10 minutes arguing with the manager and they told her they wouldn't take it off. We then complained and finally they took it off. When we complained about the chef blowing his nose, they acted as if it were no big deal. They took off $6 (sharing fee for splitting a meal) for the grossness. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS PLACE! Portions are very small for hibachi and the money!

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendibird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kohnami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Excellent! Great menu. It is a little on the pricey side but well worth it. Seating could be at tables or you can sit with other people at the teppanyaki grill.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Mediocre food at exorbitant prices.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I were overly excited at the prospect of Japanese while on vacation to get a break from the limited choices on South Padre Island. The food was highly disappointing here. I got the spicy beef and he got the teriyaki salmon, they were both lacking in flavor and the presentation was not representative of Japanese cuisine. The side dishes that accompanied them(rice, salads and miso soup) we're lacking flavor as well. At $20 an entree our food came up to about $60 and was NOT worth it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a fabulous experience at this Japanese Hibachi restaurant. The Hibachi was very skilled and had a great sense of humor. The food was excellent - perfect flavor combinations. The sauces took the food to another level. Our party ordered the veggies and fish with the fried rice and everyone enjoyed the food. The cold sake we tried (it was the sweeter one) was another hit. The tempura was not that great. Overall we had a great time at this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Primuspilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohnami Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kohnami Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing