We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature center is a voice for dolphins wild and free, we do not keep them in captivity. We do have DAILY BOAT tours to take you out to meet them. Our facility has touch tanks and marine exhibits to help all who visit understand how we can help save our oceans. Our boats still go to meet our dolphins when the large tours do not have enough people to go we go for just four people
McAllen, TX
1 review
“VERY EDUCATIONAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We took our 3rd Grade classes and the whole experience was fantastic. Michelle did an excellent job educating our students on sea life in the laguna madre. She also explained how important it was to have them learn how to help these animals and keep our environment safe for the sea life. Our students enjoyed holding some sea life and getting to see some that they may have never had the opportunity to see before. Perfect place to take any chid or adult to learn more about the sea life in the SPI area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    65
    21
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweet Home, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

When we scheduled a trip out to see the dolphins, Scarlet was not available to go. We had a very kind knowledgeable gentleman (and his dog Tawni) that took us out instead. That was an experience of a lifetime! We learned so much, and got to be up close & personal with watching the dolphins. Tawni was hilarious when she was talking with the dolphins- pretty cool. We went with another couple & it was well worth the money! We WILL do this again when returning to the area. Thank you for a wonderful memorable experience!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sspartyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dolphin watch with the dolphin whisperer the only way to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Thank you to Scarlet for her refreshing tour to visit her "tribe"of dolphins in the Laguna madre. We boarded her small boat, only seats six including Rozzi the dolphin dog, and she brought us out into the water to meet her family of dolphins. After she convinced us that the dolphins really do love it when you hoot, holler, bark and get excited, the tribe revealed itself to us! We saw at least 30 dolphins who played in our wake, swam up to the boat, even a few leaps. As an animal lover and amateur naturalist I truly believe that Scarlett's tour is the only sustainable, safe, respectful way to view the wildlife of south padre. The most obvious sign of Scarlet's hard work, respect and energy was that when the large "dolphin watch" boats from port Isabel came by the dolphins literally disppeared. In her own words, how can you be a dolphin watch specialist if you don't even know the dolphins names, habitat and locations. Let alone love and respect them. Thank you thank you thank you scarlet for your hard work and unforgettable day

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drkristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Dolphin Whisperer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Scarlet Colley. She made this experience. We started with a tour around the Sea Life Center and then headed to the boat for some Dolphin Watching. Her excitment and knolwedge of the dolphine tribe was spectacular. My kids (7 & 4) voted this the best activity while on vacation in So Padre.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girls 3 day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The dolphin trip was great! We saw over 40 dolphin. The center is small but interesting. a Crab liked me better than his habitat tried to come home with me

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shanann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing