We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island Beach(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$175
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$137
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$111
$95
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl South Padre(South Padre Island)
$229
$206
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Condominiums(South Padre Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
29
17
7
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
17
7
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoffice staffliving roombit datedwe've stayedstay there againunitsunrisespipadrebeachtrashmasteroceanmaintenance
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 71 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in #203, and we would stay there again. Judy's choice of furnishings was tropical. We had all of the kitchen supplies we needed except for hot pads. It's nice having ensuite bathrooms for each bedroom.
The pool was warm & the jacuzzi hot. The beach is well cared for by SPI maintenance vehicles. The staff were friendly.
We thought we were going for the beach & surf, but what we enjoyed most was the Turtle Rescue Center, Bird Sanctuary, & Sea Life Inc (Dolphin Whisperer Scarlet Colley) out of Port Isabel. The Dolphin boat excursion was absolutely incredible!
Restaurants: Blackbeard's had incredible grilled mahimahi. Port Isabel's Blue Oyster (hope I have name right) had awesome grilled fish & deep fat fried shrimp. Dirty Al's in Port Isabel had incredible Shrimp Alfredo (they make their own sauce).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmunz, Guest Relations Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review.
SPI has so many different activities to enjoy, and the Dolphin Watch is really one of the most popular.
Your reviews of the restaurants will help future travelers know that they will experience great seafood while on the island.
Look forward to seeing you again.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After reading some of the reviews of this condo, it seems most of the problems may stem from renting from the Condo and not thru an owner. We rented through VRBO and loved our experience. The condo is 5 stories, so not near as massive as some on the island. We stayed on 3rd floor and the view was INCREDIBLE. Full view of the gulf, the crashing waves, the beach. Balcony accessed thru the living room door. Wide balcony with views from the master bedroom as well. Spent most of our time there, relaxing!
Elevators were quick and the condo was clean, spacious (2 bed/2 bath) large kitchen well stocked. I do agree about the internet being slow......but I noted that it was ONLY the weekend when it was slow for us. (we stayed in September for several days) So the more people, the slower the WiFi.

Advice:
--If you want to just 'park and relax'....you could use the South Padre Bus system "the WAVE"....it goes past the condo. Parking there is ONE car per unit , but available parking on the street adjacent to the building.
--Do not let a rainy forecast scare you off. It rains. It stops. Sun shines :-) Even if the sun isn't shining directly, the rain rarely lasts long on the Gulf.
--Beaches are VERY nice at this condo. Secure, gated entry or you can walk a few steps around the edge of the building to a nice boardwalk.
--Pool is HEATED and always clean. Hot tub IS hot!
--DINING= GO TO YUMMIES cafe!!! their breakfasts and lunches and coffees are AMAZING! and the service is wonderful!!! Just a short drive down the main road towards the Causeway ...
--Kellly's Irish Pub just down the road, is REALLY good burgers, beer and free pool table!
--Pier 19 has beautiful Bay views and the food is AWESOME! (as are the margaritas!)

-- Sea Turtle rescue just down the road...very informative and fun way to spend a few hours.

THIS is a very nice spot to rest and relax. It may not be as modern as the newer condos, but you don't have the pricey problems either! If you want a clean, well maintained place to spend LOTS of time watching the waves, smelling the Gulf air, watching pelicans fly over, listening to the crashing surf, catching sunrises and moon rises.........come here!! but from the sounds of some of the other reviews.......BOOK THRU VRBO with an owner!

Room Tip: if you want a quieter area.......choose a room NOT over the pool side. We stayed on the side nearest the boardwalk.......very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank txtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Well I don't know if its gonna be published, but just want you to know tha no matter how, but my best childhood vacations I spent in this cozy hotel were the best of all!! Everytime I remember about SPI inmediately comes a picture of this hotel! Luv it and definitely will come back someday!!! My mom (RIP) used to love the beautiful ocean view of this place!!! Want to come baaack!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeeWee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just got back from our stay and it was a wonderful condo complex. The staff were all very friendly from the maintenance workers to the office staff. We stayed elsewhere at South Padre last year and there were a few things that made a big difference. Having the office in the same complex was very nice. We also appreciated having the daily towel exchange within the same building. The staff was always very helpful. The beach is lovely in the area and the pool area was nice. Checkout was also extremely painless and easy and we got our deposit back without much hassle.

We stayed in room #405, which had very nice furnishings. The bed was as expected for a condo, nothing great, nothing awful. We were surprised by the large walk-in closet, which served us well for giving a place for our infant daughter to sleep. The view was beautiful and close to the beach. The other guests were friendly and it seemed to attract a good family crowd. The recliner was difficult to get to stay reclined and could have been more comfortable, but besides that, no complaints with the room.

The one downside is the wifi. It was virtually nonexistent in our room, despite being something mentioned as a perk. It was incredibly unreliable, where it might take 10 attempts to load a page, and incredibly slow when it did load. If this is important for you, either bring your own wifi service or stay somewhere else. This may be a deal breaker for me for a return visit. We have young kids and need to spend a lot of time in our rooms and I was hoping to get some work done, but it was nearly impossible. I went to the office, and the signal strength was fine there and the connection was great. The office staff was dismissive of my inquery, stating that it might be the clouds or the island causing the trouble. I figured they just weren't technically savvy enough to understand how WiFi worked. A simple investment of a repeater placed on each floor could have made the stay a lot more enjoyable. If I didn't have this issue, I would not even consider looking elsewhere for a room when we return. Hopefully this issue can be resolved, or we may have to try to find a room closer to the office and the router, or try to tether off of our phones.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms get foot-traffic from people going to the pool and have less privacy, but give easier access to the beach. Be careful going too high in the building or away from the office if you want to use WiFi.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chiefwahoo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in condo# 307. The pictures on the website looked really nice but was really outdated. The furniture were uncomfortable and made terrible noises when used. The appliances were old, too.
The view was great, can't beat that.
The Manager on site wasn't the best either.
Bottom line, if you just want to have a condo to sleep and spent more time outside, this is the condo for you. I just expect more for the price I paid. (Not our first time on SPI)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews