We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best childhood vacations ever!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best childhood vacations ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Well I don't know if its gonna be published, but just want you to know tha no matter how, but my best childhood vacations I spent in this cozy hotel were the best of all!! Everytime I remember about SPI inmediately comes a picture of this hotel! Luv it and definitely will come back someday!!! My mom (RIP) used to love the beautiful ocean view of this place!!! Want to come baaack!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeeWee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
34
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just got back from our stay and it was a wonderful condo complex. The staff were all very friendly from the maintenance workers to the office staff. We stayed elsewhere at South Padre last year and there were a few things that made a big difference. Having the office in the same complex was very nice. We also appreciated having the daily towel exchange within the same building. The staff was always very helpful. The beach is lovely in the area and the pool area was nice. Checkout was also extremely painless and easy and we got our deposit back without much hassle.

We stayed in room #405, which had very nice furnishings. The bed was as expected for a condo, nothing great, nothing awful. We were surprised by the large walk-in closet, which served us well for giving a place for our infant daughter to sleep. The view was beautiful and close to the beach. The other guests were friendly and it seemed to attract a good family crowd. The recliner was difficult to get to stay reclined and could have been more comfortable, but besides that, no complaints with the room.

The one downside is the wifi. It was virtually nonexistent in our room, despite being something mentioned as a perk. It was incredibly unreliable, where it might take 10 attempts to load a page, and incredibly slow when it did load. If this is important for you, either bring your own wifi service or stay somewhere else. This may be a deal breaker for me for a return visit. We have young kids and need to spend a lot of time in our rooms and I was hoping to get some work done, but it was nearly impossible. I went to the office, and the signal strength was fine there and the connection was great. The office staff was dismissive of my inquery, stating that it might be the clouds or the island causing the trouble. I figured they just weren't technically savvy enough to understand how WiFi worked. A simple investment of a repeater placed on each floor could have made the stay a lot more enjoyable. If I didn't have this issue, I would not even consider looking elsewhere for a room when we return. Hopefully this issue can be resolved, or we may have to try to find a room closer to the office and the router, or try to tether off of our phones.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms get foot-traffic from people going to the pool and have less privacy, but give ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiefwahoo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in condo# 307. The pictures on the website looked really nice but was really outdated. The furniture were uncomfortable and made terrible noises when used. The appliances were old, too.
The view was great, can't beat that.
The Manager on site wasn't the best either.
Bottom line, if you just want to have a condo to sleep and spent more time outside, this is the condo for you. I just expect more for the price I paid. (Not our first time on SPI)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights in units 203 and 205 with extended family. The condos had a great beach view, were nicely decorated, and clean. The beach was amazing. Perfect water temp, clean, best sand-castle sand ever, gently sloping, and just far enough from the big hotels to not be too crowded. The kids also enjoyed the modest pool.

Tips:
- Take a beach canopy
- Quite a bit of hot sand between the condo and the beach, so bring footwear
- The condo is strict about the number of people per condo.

Pros:
- Nice condos
- Great beach
- Great location

Cons:
- Requires cash deposit on arrival, but didn't have any problem getting refunded on departure
- Wifi is unsecure and poor signal strength
- No Cell data (Sprint) inside the building

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogidog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We found this condo on home away and emailed directly with the owner. We paid $209 a night vs listed rate of $245. I don't know if this is normal or we got a good deal

The unit was very nice and very clean. Great views and wonderful beach access. Pool is good size. We would recommend this unit and complex to others.

Couple of items we would change or at least be aware of:
- beds are very squeaky and pillows have the plastic covering, which we removed and then replaced
- very low water pressure
- kithchen is "fully equipped" but that is equivalent to how most entry level apartments are equipped.
- if you plan to cook, remember you will need to provide everything other than water.
- we were provided a ziplock bag with single use of dish washing detergent. This seemed really cheap. The owners should just leave a box of detergent
- blender is provided, but it is very low quality. It really couldn't handle ice when making drinks

Several items make this unit really nice;
- 3 TVs all with direct TV and HBO
- small selection of DVDs are provided
- play station 2 consol and about a dozen games
- comfortable couches and plenty of patio furniture.
- the previously mentioned location and views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_and_KarenDfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in unit 304. All condos have amazing beachfront balconies and views from almost every room in the house. The location is far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the main attractions, but still conveniently located and right on the beach. There is a tennis court on the property, and the pool was adequate. It is an older condo, and the furniture in our unit was a little dated. TV reception was spotty, but we rarely turned it on so that wasn't really an issue. I spent every morning and evening on the balcony listening to the waves. The only downside was that it is located next to a public beach access point. While the beach was never crowded, there were some teenagers that decided to have a party right in front of our balcony one night and left all of their trash/beer cans behind. All in all, it's a great property and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end are furthest from the pool and tend to be quieter. Ground floor rooms may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Mommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We rented penthouse suite 504 via VRBO for a week. 2BR / 2 bath; LOTS of space and a wonderful, unobstructed view of the beach and ocean from the big deck. Good location.

We had a plumbing issue on Easter morning and the front desk had a maintenance guy on it within 30 minutes. Very impressive service.

The tennis court is not operational as of 4/1/13. If that is important to you, ask about it when you make your reservation.

The pool and hot tub are really nice.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean; higher rooms would have a better view, I suppose - I would not pay a premi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwelshCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
#2 of 35 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suntide III Condominiums
Suntide III Condominiums
#1 of 35 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental Condos
Continental Condos
#19 of 35 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Edgewater Condos
#8 of 35 in South Padre Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
#10 of 35 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntide II Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide II Resort Condominiums

Property: Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Address: 4400 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7316
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Specialty Lodging in South Padre Island
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suntide II Resort Condominiums is perfect for a Family Vacation, or Couples Getaway. Relax on the pristine beaches, take a sandcastle lesson, kiteboard, go on a dolphin tour, or just kick back at our heated outdoor pool w/jacuzzi and separate sun deck. All Suntide II Resort Condominiums have a panoramic unobstructed view of South Padre's Beaches from a large private balcony where you can enjoy your morning cup of coffee while watching the amazing sunrises! Suntide II 2BD/2BA, 3BD/2BA, 3BD/3BA Condos are tastefully decorated with fully-stocked Kitchens w/Breakfast Bar, Dining area, Living Area and are 30 yds from the most beautiful beach, the South Padre Island Gulf Coast. Our on-site Office Staff is available to make certain you have the BEST Beach Vacation ever! We also offer On-site Daily Linen/Towel exchange. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suntide Ii Resort Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing