We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suntide II Resort Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Family experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights in units 203 and 205 with extended family. The condos had a great beach view, were nicely decorated, and clean. The beach was amazing. Perfect water temp, clean, best sand-castle sand ever, gently sloping, and just far enough from the big hotels to not be too crowded. The kids also enjoyed the modest pool.

Tips:
- Take a beach canopy
- Quite a bit of hot sand between the condo and the beach, so bring footwear
- The condo is strict about the number of people per condo.

Pros:
- Nice condos
- Great beach
- Great location

Cons:
- Requires cash deposit on arrival, but didn't have any problem getting refunded on departure
- Wifi is unsecure and poor signal strength
- No Cell data (Sprint) inside the building

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogidog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    5
    7
    14
See reviews for
33
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We found this condo on home away and emailed directly with the owner. We paid $209 a night vs listed rate of $245. I don't know if this is normal or we got a good deal

The unit was very nice and very clean. Great views and wonderful beach access. Pool is good size. We would recommend this unit and complex to others.

Couple of items we would change or at least be aware of:
- beds are very squeaky and pillows have the plastic covering, which we removed and then replaced
- very low water pressure
- kithchen is "fully equipped" but that is equivalent to how most entry level apartments are equipped.
- if you plan to cook, remember you will need to provide everything other than water.
- we were provided a ziplock bag with single use of dish washing detergent. This seemed really cheap. The owners should just leave a box of detergent
- blender is provided, but it is very low quality. It really couldn't handle ice when making drinks

Several items make this unit really nice;
- 3 TVs all with direct TV and HBO
- small selection of DVDs are provided
- play station 2 consol and about a dozen games
- comfortable couches and plenty of patio furniture.
- the previously mentioned location and views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_and_KarenDfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in unit 304. All condos have amazing beachfront balconies and views from almost every room in the house. The location is far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the main attractions, but still conveniently located and right on the beach. There is a tennis court on the property, and the pool was adequate. It is an older condo, and the furniture in our unit was a little dated. TV reception was spotty, but we rarely turned it on so that wasn't really an issue. I spent every morning and evening on the balcony listening to the waves. The only downside was that it is located next to a public beach access point. While the beach was never crowded, there were some teenagers that decided to have a party right in front of our balcony one night and left all of their trash/beer cans behind. All in all, it's a great property and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end are furthest from the pool and tend to be quieter. Ground floor rooms may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Mommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 904 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We rented penthouse suite 504 via VRBO for a week. 2BR / 2 bath; LOTS of space and a wonderful, unobstructed view of the beach and ocean from the big deck. Good location.

We had a plumbing issue on Easter morning and the front desk had a maintenance guy on it within 30 minutes. Very impressive service.

The tennis court is not operational as of 4/1/13. If that is important to you, ask about it when you make your reservation.

The pool and hot tub are really nice.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean; higher rooms would have a better view, I suppose - I would not pay a premi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwelshCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

the treatment of college students who are paying just as much as others is not fair. Staff kept entering the condo without permission and had the vehicle towed. There was inadequate kitchen supplies in the unit. They treated the college students like second class citizens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Lebanon, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We rented # 502. Penthouse.. Beautiful condo. Clean. Lots of space. 5 of us enjoyed the private balcony every moment! Overlooking the Beach. Neptune beach access is right by the building. Warm pool & hot tub. It was our first visit. I did months of research. So glad I found this jewel of the Island! Found it on VRBO. But there's a staff on duty 9-6 daily if you need anything.. Only drawback towels were few. I would have brought a some. But we didn't get in the surf much. Abit cold. But all in all a very Wonderful Family Vacation.., thanks Suntide..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pattys13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

When I arrived the place it did not look like much from the outside but once you get inside it was much better than the pictures. One room is a master suite, the other is one queen one twin bed with its own restroom. In the living, the coach turned into a bed. Every balcony is facing the ocean and are very spacious. They have about 6 grills if you would like to grill out. There is a layout section separate from the pool/hot tub.
A company will rent you two chairs/umbrella for $25. I suggest to bring your own.
Restaurants/bars and shopping are walking distance.
They do ask for $200 deposit (cash only) which you get back at the end after they inspect the room.
The only negative is the rudeness of the front desk. The ladies were not only rude to us but witness it to two other couples.
If you can get over the rudeness of the front desk I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CK0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntide II Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide II Resort Condominiums

Property: Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Address: 4400 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7316
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Specialty Lodging in South Padre Island
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suntide II Resort Condominiums is perfect for a Family Vacation, or Couples Getaway. Relax on the pristine beaches, take a sandcastle lesson, kiteboard, go on a dolphin tour, or just kick back at our heated outdoor pool w/jacuzzi and separate sun deck. All Suntide II Resort Condominiums have a panoramic unobstructed view of South Padre's Beaches from a large private balcony where you can enjoy your morning cup of coffee while watching the amazing sunrises! Suntide II 2BD/2BA, 3BD/2BA, 3BD/3BA Condos are tastefully decorated with fully-stocked Kitchens w/Breakfast Bar, Dining area, Living Area and are 30 yds from the most beautiful beach, the South Padre Island Gulf Coast. Our on-site Office Staff is available to make certain you have the BEST Beach Vacation ever! We also offer On-site Daily Linen/Towel exchange. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suntide Ii Resort Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing