We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dirty Al's

Dirty Al's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: About Us Dirty Al’s has been in operation since 1986 and has always provided the freshest seafood to thousands of visitors from all over the world. As a family owned and operated business, we have always taken great pride in taking care of each customer and providing them with a unique experience that they can only get from eating at Dirty Al’s. Dirty Al promises every customer that they will only be served the absolute freshest seafood caught in the wild off the Gulf of Mexico. A Father and his Sons Make a Great Team! Alfonso Salazar, better known as “Dirty Al” originally started shrimping as a young man with his father and 6 brothers. In 2003, he and his youngest son, Cameron, who graduated from Culinary School, transformed his bait stand into a restaurant where together they have been known for having “The World’s Best Fried Shrimp”! In 2005, his other two sons returned home to help grow the business. To this day, they now own 6 restaurants on beautiful South Padre Island and continue to bring only the “best” Gulf Seafood to each customer’s table.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Pretty simple restaraunt, not too expensive. Really good fried shrimp. The service is good and the food comes out pretty fast. right next to the activity center with fishing, parasailing and all that. great place to go to after a day of adventure.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CBunny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    325
    148
    53
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Plastic Eating utensils.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Food was good but if you get there after 7:00 be prepared for a wait. Try to sit in the room with the windows because the back too by the bar is dark and dreary. The shrimp kabobs were amazing as were the oysters but why couldn't they use silverware? It is had to cut things with cheap plastic forks. Be sure to bring things for small children to play with because the wait is long even if you get seated quickly

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch at the beach In SPI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This place didn't look very appealing from the outside and the inside was ok. The service there was amazing. Out food came fast and hot. We had fried fish and shrimp and salad. I don't eat fried foods but took a chance. It was soooo delicious. A manager came to our table to say hi and we chatted for awhile. He was very nice and he enjoyed our compliments. We will definitely be bank.

Helpful?
Thank Kiti138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“shrimp!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

The best shrimp and crab fingers I have had a
in long time! Prices were real reasonable too! They got pretty crowded....but it was a Friday night. A little disorganized on the wait....would be good if they handed out pagers or something to notify you when your table is ready. Do highly recommend though!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Serious Must!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I cannot imagine a better place to eat. I absolutely love love love Dirty Al's. We went last year for the first time. This year while on vacation we went twice. Hands down the best seafood I have ever had. Such a wonderful atmosphere. Cannot wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank a2bkgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing