We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Dirty Al's

Dirty Al's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: About Us Dirty Al’s has been in operation since 1986 and has always provided the freshest seafood to thousands of visitors from all over the world. As a family owned and operated business, we have always taken great pride in taking care of each customer and providing them with a unique experience that they can only get from eating at Dirty Al’s. Dirty Al promises every customer that they will only be served the absolute freshest seafood caught in the wild off the Gulf of Mexico. A Father and his Sons Make a Great Team! Alfonso Salazar, better known as “Dirty Al” originally started shrimping as a young man with his father and 6 brothers. In 2003, he and his youngest son, Cameron, who graduated from Culinary School, transformed his bait stand into a restaurant where together they have been known for having “The World’s Best Fried Shrimp”! In 2005, his other two sons returned home to help grow the business. To this day, they now own 6 restaurants on beautiful South Padre Island and continue to bring only the “best” Gulf Seafood to each customer’s table.
Harlingen, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place is a great seafood dive joint with amazing food! The blackened calamari and fired shrimp are our favorites. The place is always packed which is a testament to how popular their food is among locals and tourists.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MooseCalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    349
    157
    58
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Butterfly shrimp, oh my!! We love the food here. Not only did we live the food we bought some to take home with us. The atmos”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

.Butterfly shrimp, oh my!! Not only did we love the food we bought some to take home with us. The atmosphere is laid back. You will enjoy it. Fresh oysters, fresh everything..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Food was good, but ceviche was different. The tables were small folding tables. Don't bother dressing for this dinner....they didn't. They could definitely put some work into it. It's a little run down.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlav60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best fried shrimp I've ever had”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place isn't much to look at, but I almost cried when I tasted the fresh Gulf shrimp. I've never had such succulent shrimp in my life, and I was born and raised in Texas. I've been eating Gulf shrimp for as long as I can remember. The cook here knows how to handle these little guys. They were cooked perfectly and retained their sweet flavor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Davis, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An average seafood joint”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited South Padre on the 12th of April and decided to give Dirty Al's a try, even though the reviews have been all over the place for this restaurant. We visited around 5 PM and got a booth in the back near the water where we could watch the boats come and go. That was the best part of the visit. We all had the fried fish and shrimp baskets with fries. The fish was so-so. The shrimp little better. Food was nice and hot. The fries were pretty good and lots of them.

Just as we got there, as luck would have it, the water got turned off out in the street in front of the restaurant. As a result restrooms were terribly dirty with stuff thrown on the floor. This was uncomfortable for the two ladies in our group who couldn't use the restroom. I guess no one on the staff ever went in there to see it. The place was not at all busy, service was not bad. Just ordinary. Nothing special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob79734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing