We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel after booking a "deal" for 2 nights for $200. It included $100 to spend at either the spa or the restaurant. I wouldn't have paid more for it... the pictures on the website are a little misleading. It's not really a "Resort" per se. When we checked out they said there was a $40 fee (that wasn't included) for taxes. The clerk couldn't provide a print-out or receipt for the extra $40, which was strange, so it turned out to be $120 per night.

Having said that, the location is wonderful! The layout of the room was great too... plenty of room for all of our beach gear, our cooler, our bags, etc. Plus, they have a kitchen that is stocked with plates, pans, etc. We brought most of our own food and cooked it there. They have the small hotel fridge, but it still held all of our cold items. I thought it was funny that they provided paper towels, kitchen soap & sponge, but not coffee filters... how are you supposed to know what type of coffeemaker they have in the room??

Since it is right on the beach, the salty air has affected some of the outdoor areas... rust spots, etc. That kind of thing doesn't bother me at all, but some people are really turned off by that.

The room was a little bit worn out as well... the bathroom sink leaked, there were a few stains here and there, but overall it was clean and comfortable. A HUGE perk is the outdoor showers in the pool area. They are equipped with warm water. It was wonderful to come back up from the beach (covered in sand) and step into the warm water shower.

I would stay here again if I could get the $100 rate, (which was really $120) but not if I had to pay more. The location, the outdoor showers, and the kitchen make this hotel a good buy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealityRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

We thank you so much for having taken the time to share your experiences at our resort. We continually strive to improve, so I assure you that your constructive criticism is well-received. I can tell you that the voucher you purchased from a 3rd party did not include taxes, and that was stated on the offer. As you know, the State and local governments require that occupancy tax be paid, so this is something that one will expect at any and every hotel in the State of Texas. As for the coffee, it is provided to our guests free of charge, and actually comes in a filtered packet which one merely drops into the coffee maker. We try to provide every necessity and convenience a guest might require, standard. We look forward to your return, and promise that you will see an improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 268 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a perfect place to enjoy south padre. Great central location, friendly service, clean and minimalist rooms...what more can you ask for. Perfect for a months stay or a weekend. Truly loved our stay and will be back for sure. Not planning on staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophia616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

It was so very nice to have met you and your mom, and am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Guests like you truly make our work rewarding, and I hope to see you again soon! Enjoy Austin, and remember that Padre is just a short morning's drive away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here for a week and loved the resort! Perfect for a relaxing time which WE ALL DESERVE! The location is great as well! The drinks from the restaurant are huge and amazing when you're tanning! I could not have picked a better place! Rate it five stars!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if you get discounts for the spa, i got a great massage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

We thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us! We hope to see you again soon! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The service that you get in this hotel is personalized, the accommodations are excellent, the rooms are modern/minimalist style, with an awesome ocean view. The staff was very attentive to the needs of my family. The food is excellent. I spent many days on the beach and the direct beach access this hotels offers is amazing, you are right there basically! I recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have ocean view, I'm not sure but make sure you get one with it! It is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

We thank you for your kind comments, as they motivate our great staff to continue to strive to do their very best for our wonderful guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting South Padre Island for several years and we were already aware of Peninsula Island Resort & Spa service. The rooms are spotlessly clean with huge beds and soft marshmallow bedding that you just sink into, there's plasma TV’s in every room. We are talking 4 to 5 star quality without going overboard. The restaurant is also great w/ an incredible ocean view; the staff was great, very helpful and friendly. One of the greatest surprises when we finally climbed into bed was the silence, no sirens, car horns, people shouting just warm comfortable sweet dreams. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance for a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We thank you very much for having taken the time to share your great experience with Peninsula Island Resort. Our property, just 6 years old, was built to last--cement walls rather than the customary sheetrock, coupled with double-paned windows--and this helps dampen outside noise. We are thankful to have you as a loyal guest, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Unfriendly staff and over zealous maid service made for an uncomfortable stay. Having a maid try to enter the room at 8am was just the beginning of an awfull stay, the front desk staff was extremely unfriendly, and the hall and walkway lights turned out at 10pm each night making it not only creepy but extremely unsafe. I would not stay here again, save yourself a bad trip and stay somewhere else, anywhere else

Stayed: January 2012
3  Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We apologize terribly for the adverse experience at our resort. We try to maintain a safe environment for all guests, with entry gates, CCTV property-wide, and loss-prevention staff overnight. We did have a row of lights go out for a few days, something which was quickly remedied, and this may have led to your hallway appearing darker than normal. However, we are puzzled by the claim that housekeeping attempted to enter your unit at 8am, when housekeepers are not scheduled prior to 10am. As far as the front desk staff is concerned, if you can forward me more information, it would go a long way in helping us to improve the quality of service we provide to our guests. It is also extremely helpful to hotels to address these concerns while registered with us, in order to afford us an opportunity to try and improve your experience. After researching this issue, I have not been able to find any logged complaints or concerns. Regardless, we thank you for having taken the time to provide this feedback, and promise to continue our efforts to improve every guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We enjoy alot the restaurant room service you can order a Real breakfast its really hard to find a condominium with a restaurant .
the people that works there are very nice always with a smile very good service.

have a nice vacation experience!

Room Tip: never booking a hotel that you need to drive to the beach,get a ocean view or ocean front with they...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We thank you very much for having taken the time to share your great experience with us. As with many such sites, people are often more motivated to share negative experiences. As a result, we thank you very much for having found the time to share your positive experience with us. We value our customers very much, and our restaurant Las Olas has been designed to provide diners with the freshest home-cooked meals available anywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,633 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,629 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
536 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Address: 340 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $74 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the sea oats and sand dunes, and highlighted by the blue of the Gulf of Mexico, The Peninsula Island Resort and Spa South Padre Island, Texas is the perfect venue for a relaxing island escape. Located directly on the beach in the heart of South Padre Island's "hotel row", our upscale property opened in 2006, and combines the highest standards in construction with contemporary, tasteful design. The units are all well-appointed, and range in size from our very popular studio kitchenette units to our 3 bedroom/3 bath condominiums. With concrete walls, porcelain tile flooring, and leather furniture, our resort was designed to resist to mold, humidity and allergens all-too-often common near the sea. Our swimming pool is the largest infinity pool in South Texas, and features a convenient swim up bar. Each offers either a full kitchen or kitchenette, and everything else necessary to cook and serve a gourmet meal. If cooking is not your thing, Las Olas Restaurant Grill and Bar, located onsite, is considered by many to be one of the best restaurants on South Padre Island, and offers a variety of delicious homemade dishes available for in-room dining. All-in-all, the Peninsula is in a league of its own--offering the spacious luxury of a condominium, coupled with the service and appointments of an upper-tier resort hotel.In July 2016, we added 27 deluxe rooms, each room has high speed internet, two full size beds, sofabed, 42" TV with cable, and a minibar fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Peninsula Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Island Resort And Spa
Peninsula Island Hotel South Padre Island
Peninsula South Padre Island
South Padre Island Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing