We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dinner on South Padre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chef House Restaurant - MOVED

The Chef House Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $25
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Dinner on South Padre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Loved our dinner at the Chef's House! Wonderful food at reasonable prices. Everything from the salsa to appetizers to our main courses was delicious! The service was excellent and the beachfront view was lovely. We only wish we'd found it earlier on our trip--definitely our family favorite. This should be on EVERY top pick list for SPI! Don't miss it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Blkburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Great Place For Family Gatherings"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I called this restaurant ahead of time because we were celebrating our mother's 90th birthday. We wanted a nice breakfast place for about 45 people. They confirmed that they could accommodate us. Two days before the event the chef called me and asked if it was ok if he would prepare a buffet breakfast for our group and of course we said yes! He emailed me the menu of what he would include and told me he was open for suggestions. We reviewed the menu and changed one dish and he of course was willing to do what we wanted. We were very pleased with the food the service and how we were received. We all recommend this restaurant and we will be back to see Chef Sylvain when we visit the island. Thank you chef and staff for a great job.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZ23A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“YOU MUST GO HERE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was the restaurant highlight for us while in South Padre. WE went there three times, our kids celebrated their anniversary there and we got to know the chef and owners who are really special people!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Texas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This is, unquestionably, one of the best Mexican food restaurants in The country! Delicious food! Beautiful presentation! Great staff! Fantastic prices! ....oh yeah...it's right on the beach! We look forward to eating there as much as we look forward to going to the beach!

Helpful?
1 Thank TimInTheATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place has great food, but don't go there if you're in a rush. They also have a strange setup with the bar upstairs. In our case a man came to our table to take our alcoholic beverage order, but I felt like he kind of hovered over all the tables waiting for people to order.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TxFoodie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chef House Restaurant also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing