We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only hotel I've found with a fishing pier, boat dock and downtown at a great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Bella Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Bella Resort
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Edinburg, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only hotel I've found with a fishing pier, boat dock and downtown at a great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Last weekend my family and I stayed at the Casa Bella in South Padre Island, TX. The room was great. Very clean, neat, air conditioner was freezing, and each room had a view of the pool and jacuzzi. We were also right on the water (bayside) and had access to a covered fishing pier which also had boat docks available. This along with very courteous service, coninnental breakfast, and a great location. We were walking distance from shops, restaurants and bars. It was a great value for the price and we will definitely stay there again! In fact I recommended it to some extended family and they also rented rooms and joined us for some fishing, so it was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsweeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I am so happy to read that tou enjoyed your stay. We recently joined Americas Best Value Inn so that we may continue to give our guests great service at affordable prices. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may continue to show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    11
    27
See reviews for
27
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We arrived late...unbeknownst to us SPI was having their annual sand castle contest. The room was filthy ... dirty tub, the toilet had not been cleaned. The 3/4ths of toilet paper had been used...why bother.?
The mildew was overwhelming...and the AC was a welcome respite.
The most shocking and disgusting of this so called hospitable establishment is that the Managers TURN OFF the AC at 9am if you are checking out at 11am.

After arriving late, and dealing with a nasty and dirty bathroom with see through oversized hand towels that were terribly worn ...I simply wanted to sleep but was awoken by the Mugginess and dampness that choaked me ... Because the management chooses to wake people By turning off the AC.
Which is inhumane. I have an elderly parent who was so upset by their uncharitable ways.

I called the mgr to let them know that the AC was not working ...and they said we turned your AC off...because your check out is in 3 hours.

I had to beg them to keep it on again but they wouldn't saying I was up now so I should be on my way.

I explained that I arrived after 12 and was looking forward to sleeping in...and that I have an elderly parent whose health is being compromised let alone having to argue over something so trivial.

This dump has switches that turn off the power to your AC from their office. The hotel business is about hospitality there none at this embarrassment of a place.
Shisters! Fraudulent practice. Do not stay here. Beware!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MX99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. I have spoken with my staff, and have put new policies in place to make sure that this does not happen again, We recently joined Americas Best Value Inn so that we may continue to give our guests great service at affordable prices. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may continue to show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Harlingen, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

was satisfied with room,, despite reading other reviews of dirty rooms and crappy towels, our experience was the opposite. the only thing that drove me crazy was the ill-fitting king sized sheets,, they popped off the bed everytime you sat on it,,, would definately stay here again, but will bring properly sized sheets from home

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pic05192000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I am so happy to see that you enjoyed. We recently joined Americas Best Value Inn so that we may continue to give our guests great service at affordable prices. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may continue to show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Took hubby for his Birthday, excited about the jacuzzi tub. Checked into our room, immediately smelled the smell of mildew but tolerable, decided to run water in the tub and get in, tub didn't work, called front desk and they said punch the button on top, there was a hole where a button should be, told her we tried that and it "doesn't work" she said she would come over and check. Came in and checked "didn't work" she said that the room next door was available and if we wanted to move the tub worked in that room. We moved and the That room was a little better and the tub worked. Towels very thin, almost like rags, sheets also thin almost like rags. It was clean and painted at the hotel.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasWoman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We recently joined Americas Best Value Inn so that we may continue to give our guests great service at affordable prices. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may continue to show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

When we first walked into our room their was an odor that was beyond bad. Mildew growing on the carpet under the a/c unit and on the fridge. The jaquzzi did not work, and to top it off, the sheets had more than a couple of bloody spots on them, it had more than a COUPLE OF HANDS full, the smallest being a quarter in size and the largest would make you gag!!! The towels, paper thin that they were, also had numberous blood and other, what one could only assume, bodily tissue!?! We went to Wal-Mart and bought febreeze, bleach, gloves towels and sheets. Why did we continue or stay, the entire island was booked. Then, when you think it can't get worse it does, they allow not 4 to 6 people in each room but more than 11. The guest on this particular weekend were allowed to move there large parties of 20 plus guest, ranging from all ages,to various parts of this hotel. The guests moved their tables, chairs, and anything else not nailed down outaside on the walk ways in front of their rooms and ours. They stayed in the pool until at least 2 or 3am, and were allowed to play loud music, and car alarms went off all the time. We have small children and made other arraingements for them to stay with family at another hotel (LaQuinta). We would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sholcomb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Room was nice, had a microwave, refrigerator, a ceiling fan, slept 6, but towels were literally rags! They were stained, they had holes and even a burned spot on a wash cloth. They were so thin you could see through them and so rough it was like using a loofah to dry yourself. No coffee pot, no blow dryer, no iron, no ironing board, and no internet access. We will never stay there again and I will make sure not to recommend this place to anyone. After seeing all the other bad reviews, I now see why they had vacancies. We wanted to go somewhere else, but they would not cancel our reservations and refund our money because the rooms had been reserved and paid for online. No receipt was given at checkout, they said we had to get one online.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

Had planned to stay 2 nights, but the place was pretty dirty. No coffee pot in room, kleenex, no breakfast to speak of.

  • Liked — Size and layout of room
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank edavid1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.1 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#19 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#22 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Resort

Property: Casa Bella Resort
Address: 5601 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7450 (Formerly Casa Bella Resort Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Bella Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Casa Bella Resort, the newest resort hotel on South Padre Island, is located on the water channel. It is our goal to provide quality, affordable, and unforgettable accommodations during your stay. Our Mediterranean-style courtyard features a swimming pool with ever-changing tinted lights, a relaxing hot tub, beautiful landscaping surrounded by romantic balconies with palm trees that sway in the breeze. Our lovely rooms come either with one king and two queen beds, desk & chair, microwaves, refrigerators, and twin sofa sleepers. Be sure to ask for the hot tub room which sports a king size bed and a separate Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Casa Bella Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites Casa Bella Hotel South Padre Island
Casa Bella Hotel
Hotel Casa Bella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing