We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a beautiful place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

For our first experience with the fabled South Padre Island culture we decided to splurge a bit on a Holiday Inn. Turns out they were very reasonable, especially for a resort destination! On January 20 and 21, 2014 we were charged less than $90/night for two queen beds, (pretty good beds!) with outdoor hot tub, heated outdoor pool, flat screen TV, wonderful hot breakfast, interior hallways, elevator, and free parking. There is a marked 1 ½ block walking path to the beach. The culture of this inn, and this community, reflects an appreciation of “winter Texans” which we hope to become eventually, and they provide an even more spectacular rate if you stay 30 days or more (Plus, in Texas, staying more than 30 days excuses you from the hefty Texas hospitality tax – about 18 percent if memory serves.). We can not say enough about this lovely inn. The breakfast room –already in January- was filled with winter Texans, all of whom wanted to include us in their activities. The hotel itself sponsors and/or organizes many activities including golf, cards, fishing and bird watching at the nearby (across the road) bird sanctuary. If you are looking for a place to spend the winter we can easily recommend this facility. One negative; the elevator gave the impression it might fail at any minute, but of course it didn’t.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank royboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    99
    42
    10
    7
See reviews for
122
90
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I read many hotel reviews for the area and chose Holiday Inn Express largely based on the great reviews I read. After my trip I feel this was an extremely sound decision!

My vacation to South Padre island held many challenges. Primarily extremely cold fronts and storms in the area. The morning after my arrival, the power on this portion of the island went out....about 5 or 6 times. Leaving us w/o/ power for most of the morning. The staff here was absolutely amazing! They sprang into action immediately- To include getting updates from power company, insuring all guests potentially in elevators during an outage were immediately taken care of (I mean within less than 3 minutes), and overall insuring as little inconvenience to the guests as possible. The best part was that they did it all with grace and smiles. They were truly happy to help and as an added bonus they made sure the hot coffee at breakfast NEVER ran out :-)

In addition to the consistent, helpful attitude of the staff, the facility was very clean, updated and overall a pleasure to stay in! I would absolutely stay again if my travels bring me to South Padre and recommend it for anyone considering a stay on the Island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I had reservations for a week at an older resort at South Padre Island. To our dismay it was old, run down and not clean. Consequently, we checked out and searched for another place to stay on the island. Based on positive feedback, we contacted the Holiday Inn at South Padre island. We were met at the counter by the manager who was kind and friendly. In fact, she gave us a free night at the Inn while we finalized plans. Because the place was clean, well located and had a friendly staff, we choose to stay and therefore made reservations for the rest of our trip to the island. "Winter Texans" often stay during the cold months because the Holiday Inn has a very positive reputation. We found them warm and inviting. My wife and I highly recommend this hotel, and we plan on staying at this hotel during future visits. Steve and Maryann

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The rooms are large and very comfortable. The bedding is all super nice, soft and comfortable. Our rate in November also made this an exceptional value. Breakfast,nice pool, hot tub. The Wave shuttle (free shuttle running along the island and airport) stops right in from every 20 or so minutes, making it much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and found the hotel clean and attractive. The hot breakfast was okay, as well. King bed was a bit soft and we awoke to sore backs. Staff is just marvelous an will go out of their was to accomodate their guests. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 266Maggie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff is very friendly. Alma runs a tight ship of cleanliness and very friendly staff. This was the second time we have held a meeting there with a reserved block of rooms. Both meetings were about 3 days long for 15-20 participants. Other than having to shut one of the doors to the meeting room because of the noise from an electronic pinball game, we were able to get our work done. Attentiveness for all needs of the meeting and living quarters was top notch. I would recommend staying at this nice hotel if you want a welcoming, friendly, and very clean place to stay on South Padre.

Brad, Massachusetts

Room Tip: Second floor is a good bet so you can walk up the stairs easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiser, MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was clean. I was disappointed by not having a view of the Gulf. We came down there for my sister to see the ocean for the first time in her life before she passes away. There is condos in the back of the property restricting the view of the Gulf.



Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Brenda G,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay with us. It is good to know you found our hotel clean. However, I apologize if you and your sister were not able to enjoy the view from the room. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into. Thank you again for your review and we hope to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-7710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing