We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Although the rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good. And the older lady doing breakfast was very accomidating, the women at the front desk were very rude. One fat lady did not want to get off her butt to even look to see if there was toothpaste and later on in the afternoon this young lady pretty much yelled at me when I had to go downstairs because I told her nobody was answering my calls! I wouldn't doubt she turned the ringer off (if that is even possible!) There was no manager on duty either! After our stay, I do not think our family will ever stay again! We will be taking our business elsewhere, possibly hilton or anywhere else where respect is shown to the people staying there!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bed-hog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear bed-hog101,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 341 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

awesome staff!!! clean rooms!!! great location,would go back in a heartbeat!!! OH YEAH-yummy breakfast viddles:) had an issue second night with people slamming doors-2 families going back n forth went to front desk n didn"t hear a thing after that!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Holiday Inn Express was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The staff very friendly. Nice variety for breakfast. Had to log in numerous times daily for wifi. Would be nice if the pool was heated during the winter months! Met a lot of nice Winter Texans.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A friend and I flew in for a quick four day kiting excursion and were looking for a good place to stay. We were not looking for super cheap flea bag, but also not looking to spend over $100 per night. This place fit the bill. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows (both soft and firm provided), plenty of towels, good breakfast served by a pleasant staff, and excellent management. They also had a nice grassy area on the north side of the building to lay out kites to dry. My only negative comment - and they are minimal - is that the hot tub was very hot and the pool was not heated. I typically would not use a hotel hot tub, but we could tell right away that it was clean. It felt great to jump in after a full day on the north/south flats! I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a very clean comfortable hotel. Staff was awesome, we had a problem with an airline and had to fly into a different airport and our rental car company was not going to be open that late. Calling them at midnite, they said they would be there in 20 minutes. Then for some reason the rental car employee was there. So it was not an issue. Upon arriving the clerk recognized me and wished me better luck in the future. Room was very quiet and cozy, so the little rest we did get was good rest as we had to drive to the other airport to greet our bag.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Express for 3 nights over the New Year holiday. We found the hotel to be clean, with friendly staff - a special mention should go to the ever helpful maintenance staff who answered any problem we reported with facilities in our room within 10 minutes and to our embarrassment, even though the issues were down to user-operational-error (our incompetance) the staff were polite enough not to mock us...the free hot breakfast was a bonus and the selection was adequate. The swimming pool was clean and looked inviting, even though we did not venture in due to the weather. Parking was easily available, and we were easily able to park in an area where we could observe our vehicle from our room. Whilst the Internet was available free - it did seem a bit temperamental. We did have an issue with room security, where on our final day we realised the lock on the room door had malfunctioned and after cleaning the room had been left unlocked. One other ovsight, on our part, was booking a hotel without a bar over New Years Eve...we had to get supplies in from the nearby Ben's Liquor Store...
We had previously read reviews stating that this hotel was not on the beach - and thought that a 5 minute walk would be ok as we're British...turns out that walking though an area of Condo's isn't actually brilliant and we would also register this as a negative towards this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in early December. We traveled to SPI for a family get-together and stayed at this hotel because we had previously stayed here and found it to be a great value and very clean.
During all the family activities, the staff was very friendly and helpful in finding activities for everyone to enjoy. Among the 30 family members that stayed here, everyone would comment about how excellent the accommodations were.
Keep up the good work, we will be back. Excellent service, very clean, great decor and great breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,620 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-7710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $73 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing