We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It aint Chicago pizza...”
Review of D Pizza Joint

D Pizza Joint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
274 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“It aint Chicago pizza...”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

What can I say? I have high expectations of pizza. Pizza was just ok. I will admit the service was good and the bartenders were very friendly. If in South Padre Island, and it's late at night, then its worth a stop by. Besides that, can't rave about the pizza unfortunately.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steelchess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    90
    36
    18
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nugget”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Good Pizza - usually crowded with fun people. You will get to know your neighbors ! ! Often has music to participate in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Crust”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in to get a pizza early evening. The weather wasn't very nice out so the place wasn't too busy. Our server was really nice and helpful with any questions we had about their pizza. It looks like a dive outside and inside, but the pizza was spot on. They make their dough in small batches with an original recipe from the owners. You can taste the difference in how great it is (slightly chewy but still pretty thin). The sauce was good, too (a little sweet but worked well with the cheese). Ice cold beer in chilled mugs, fresh hot pizza, and nice locals. A great place to stop to get a bite and enjoy a bar atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank PJKandACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So-So Pizza”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stopped in because I had a craving for pizza. I ordered a small pizza and coffee. I waited on my pizza for quite awhile, and when it came out I saw it looked pretty good. I took one bite and the crust reminded me of frozen pizza. Otherwise the service was prompt and tending. I won't be going back there for pizza.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank majorholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“South Padre Dec 2013”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My boyfriend owns a condo in South Padre and D Pizza Joint is the first place we hit on the island. We love the atmosphere and the staff is great. And the pizza is amazing :) Tracy

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D Pizza Joint also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to D Pizza Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing