We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale food in a sports bar”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed January 19, 2019

What? We expected burgers and maybe a cursory sirloin. No. Louie's has a way more sophisticated menu. Plated differently, it would be just shy of fine dining.

My running buddy and I both had the special - parmesan crusted ribeye, served on a bed of fried onions and mushrooms, topped with potato stix, and accompanied by a baked potato covered in cheesy creamed kale. It was fabulous. Served in a skillet to keep it nice and hot, and give a nod to the sports bar atmosphere.

Prices were very reasonable and our server Jessica was a joy. Will definitely be back and recommend to others.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeeJayGude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019

The Parmesan crusted rib-eye was a wonderful choice -- we're thrilled it was to your liking! We're delighted you enjoyed our menu options and service, as well. It makes us so happy to hear you'll be back.

'Til next time,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 168 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Food ok. Price for food and mixed drinks reasonable. Had fish platter just ok.
Husband and friends had special which were fajitas. They were ok. If your looking for a cheaper restaurant this is a place you might like.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank LesleyBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

We always want to to be impressed with our dishes, Lesley, and we're sorry we missed the mark. We hope you'll come back and give our other menu options a try soon.

Until next time,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Wow we did not expect the ribs to be so good, but they were awesome! The staff was friendly and service was good. Sat in the bar with a view of the ocean! Got the chocolate cake very pretty but dry and lacking flavor. Advise to pass on it. Otherwise great overall experience!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank ArisMiniMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

The ribs were a delicious choice -- we're thrilled you enjoyed them! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our staff's service. Hoping you'll come back soon and give our other dessert options a try.

Until then,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Stopped to take in some of the game and beer and wings, sat down at a table and did not get service.so I went to the bar and ordered my wings to go and went back to Hotel to watch the game,.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2019

Troy, we're disappointed our service missed the mark this time. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to do better next time you're on the island.

'Til then,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Went for lunch and the food was great. Hubby didn't enjoy the veggies because they did lack seasoning, but overall good!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sugboog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2019

It was wonderful having you and your husband over for lunch! We're thrilled you had a good experience. We're sorry our vegetables weren't your husband's favorite, but we're certain he'll find something he'll love next time. Hope to see you again soon.

'Til then,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing