We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopkins ”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
1 review
“Hopkins ”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Had an Awesome dinner buffet & fabulous server Steve C. He was very polite & friendly!!! Seemed to Enjoy his job!! We even had a Delicious 6 layer chocolate lava cake!!! We would definetely come back again!!! Has an awesome view of fireworks!!

Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Appreciate the 5 stars, Dale! Glad to hear you had such a wonderful time with us. We're looking forward to having you back again soon.

Thanks again,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    515
    252
    132
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Outstanding service with a smile”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I had our Anniversary dinner at Louie's Backyard on 5/22/2014. Our server was Abe. It was an extreme pleasure with him. He literally brought service with a smile and was there for any of our needs. BRAVO!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Happy anniversary, Rick! So happy you two chose to celebrate with us! I'll make sure Abe sees this review and knows what an impact he had on your night.

Thanks for the 5 stars, and I hope we'll see you two again soon!

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My daughter and I came to padre for a wedding of a family member sunday the 18th... we had never been and were instructed to go to Louies for a buffett. The food was great especially for a buffett but our server... our server "kala f." Was absolutely the best. Not only did she take care of everything we needed but she answered all of our touristy questions and was a great person to chat with. She was bubbily and pleasant and competent. The sunset view was beautiful and we will definitely be back and tell everyone we know to go to louies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank librazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Whoever led you to us definitely had the right idea! So glad you followed their advice. Sounds like the food was excellent, but Kala was even better! I'll have to let her know how much of an effect she had on your experience with us.

We're all looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
2 reviews
“Opinion of Louie's Backyard on South Padre Island”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Everyone on our table of eight truly enjoyed every bit of our buffet and the excellent service
that came with it. You get the complete package when you come to Louie's Backyard and
by that I mean you not only eat great food but you have a great time .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zarate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Happy to please all eight of you! It was truly our pleasure. I hope we'll see y'all again soon!

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pharr
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Service was great. My waiter, Josh, was very attentive and friendly. Enjoyed the different bars and view of the bay. Will be back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lawlzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Can't wait to have you back! Thanks for your kind words on our service and views.

See you soon,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing