We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Seafood & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Delicious Seafood & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is now our favorite place to eat at the island. We drove from San Antonio to spend the weekend and never disappointed. The waiters are friendly and very attentive. Thanks Chris for your very good service! Excellent service and tasty seafood for 21dlls_ good deal!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Happy to have clawed our way to the top of the list, Jerry. We're honored! Glad you spent the weekend with us. Hope to see you again very soon!

'Til then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    470
    237
    123
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Delicious Food, Excellent Service, Beautiful Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are from Dallas and we stopped by Louie's Backyard restaurant while we were visiting South Padre Island for Easter weekend. The buffet was one of the best I've ever had! Mouth watering, delicious crab legs, grilled shrimp, super tender baby back ribs, blackened fish and so on and so on. Absolutely delicious! And the service was phenomenal! Tamara was our waitress. She is the best...hands down! Her great service, personality, beauty and conversation made the evening wonderful! Tamara ROCKS!! Oh yes..and the scenery is magnificent!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Wow, this review totally made my day! Thank you so much for the 5 stars. We're happy you decided to spend the holiday with us (and Tamara). From the scenery to the service to the food, we're so glad we showed y'all a wonderful time!

Hope to see you soon,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

While on vacation,my husband, brother, sister in law, and I decided to try this restaurant after reading the good reviews! The 4 of us were pleased with both the buffet and our server Josh! The seafood was tasty as well the beef tender. We decided to sit indoors because of the wind, but the view was still good. A plus to the dining experience was being able to enjoy a beverage with alcohol that didn't taste like it! The pina colada my husband ordered tasted like vanilla ice cream with a hint of coconut. Yummy! The best part, you walked away full for very inexpensive, and we got to keep the mug our drinks came in!
We highly recommend you give this restaurant a try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momnorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for the 5-star recommendation! Sounds like the four of you had a fabulous time with us. Hope you'll come see us again for delicious seafood and wonderful drinks.

'Til then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Night time excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went the first night and had a bad 2 man band, but right next to the water. Went back second evening, and great band, but they stopped at 9 and then went to DJ which led us to leave. Had some peel and eat shrimp that were good, and the cherry bomb drink was very nice!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Two nights in a row, huh Sean? Thanks for coming by to enjoy some great entertainers! Hope we'll see you again soon -- we've got some wonderful acts playing this summer.

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“AMAZING view and ask for Paul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My fiance and I were in South Padre Island searching for a venue for our wedding reception when we stopped into Louie's (probably looking like absolute tourists, lost and baffled at the size of the restaurant!) when Paul swooped in and offered up "THE" table almost immediately. I honestly thought "Yeah, you just have a table in your section. I'm a server, I get it". But was AMAZED when he brought us to a table RIGHT on the edge of the pier overlooking the ocean, causeway, and beautiful sunset. "THE" table it was! He was sooo attentive but not in the creepy hovering way; he was a step ahead of is the whole night! Not to mention he was very helpful and funny.

We tried out the buffet knowing that was to be served at a wedding reception. For $22 a plate we were a little disappointed. Its all you can eat seafood, but being buffet food quality, I don't think it was worth the price. But being a server, I know its hard to keep food at its peak when its sitting under a heat lamp, I'm thinking it may be better when its served immediately from the kitchen. We did order crabcakes off the menu, which were alright. A little small for the price, but they were good.

The restaurant itself is HUGE and VERY cool! I'd love to hang out and listen to live music there some more!

While it was fun to kind of throw out droppings to the fish and watch them go crazy, we were a little freaked out when a manager came over and took the crab shells from the table next to us, and without warning, toss the shells over the pier, only to land on the deck below. GROSS and it attracted more seagulls!!


Overall I highly recommend the ambiance, experience, and Paul, but *maybe* the seafood buffet should be avoided for the best experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jai173701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
So happy to give you a visit worthy of 5 stars! Sounds like Paul really took care of you two. There's nothing like watching the sunset from our tables -- I'm glad you got to experience that. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon. Congrats!

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing