We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great service!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Kala is so awesome. She rocked our world. She sold us ALL the Bacardi oakhearts. Couldn't have asked for better food and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wcb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
So glad to hear Kala showed you a good time! Come back and see us again soon, OK?

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    507
    247
    128
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
“So bad, so sad, because the view was so great!!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We waited 25 min. for our wine. The buffet, $21.00/each, salad was lame, the dressing was weak, unlabeled, and had food floating in it. Everything was cold and tasteless (they had a fan blowing on the food!). One ladies at the table asked for a water refill and never received it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us, Karen. Normally, we're much better than this -- from your food to the service. Hope you'll come back and give us another chance. How about ordering from our menu next time?

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Experiencing Louie's for the First Time”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I expected more from this restaurant. The food was slightly overcooked but tasted good. We enjoyed the outside seating even though it was overcast and there was no view....bummer. It was quite laid back and we expected more to be happening. Our server was very friendly and efficient. She talked us into a couple of specialty drinks that were disappointing but the kids got our souvenir glasses and they were happy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusty476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Sorry to disappoint! Of course, it's always our intention to provide a fun, wonderful experience for our guests, and I wish we had done that for you. I hope you'll give us another chance to impress you -- I'm positive we can step up to the plate.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Awesome seafood buffet with fresh seafood for 21.99. Awesome sports club meal prices. Waiter was super friendly and accommodating. Fun environment sitting Oceanside. Delicious crab cakes. Drinks were watered down but good drink specials.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dillonave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
What's awesome is this review -- Thanks for the 5 stars! Hope you'll come back and see us soon for the great food, service and, of course, the gorgeous view.

Thanks again,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
2 reviews
“james”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

food was great and Raquel my server was one of the most professional servers i ever had. It was fast service and the drinks were quick.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Ecstatic to hear you had such a great time with us, James! I'll be sure to tell Raquel about this wonderful shout out. Thanks for sharing here on TripAdvisor!

See you soon,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing