We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiencing Louie's for the First Time”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I expected more from this restaurant. The food was slightly overcooked but tasted good. We enjoyed the outside seating even though it was overcast and there was no view....bummer. It was quite laid back and we expected more to be happening. Our server was very friendly and efficient. She talked us into a couple of specialty drinks that were disappointing but the kids got our souvenir glasses and they were happy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rusty476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Sorry to disappoint! Of course, it's always our intention to provide a fun, wonderful experience for our guests, and I wish we had done that for you. I hope you'll give us another chance to impress you -- I'm positive we can step up to the plate.

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,734 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Awesome seafood buffet with fresh seafood for 21.99. Awesome sports club meal prices. Waiter was super friendly and accommodating. Fun environment sitting Oceanside. Delicious crab cakes. Drinks were watered down but good drink specials.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dillonave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

What's awesome is this review -- Thanks for the 5 stars! Hope you'll come back and see us soon for the great food, service and, of course, the gorgeous view.

Thanks again,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

food was great and Raquel my server was one of the most professional servers i ever had. It was fast service and the drinks were quick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Ecstatic to hear you had such a great time with us, James! I'll be sure to tell Raquel about this wonderful shout out. Thanks for sharing here on TripAdvisor!

See you soon,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The buffet was abundant with seafood riches and delectable side dishes. It was truly all you can eat crab legs, shrimp, pasta, divine scalloped potatoes, salad bar and more. The service was attentive and anything you needed they were there. Great service, Ray!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Delriogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

So happy to hear you enjoyed our buffet, Delriogrande! Did you have a favorite menu item from it?

Thanks for the 5 stars, and I hope you'll come back and see us again the next time you're on the Island!

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We enjoyed great service while stuffing ourselves with the $20 buffet. Loved the cold shrimp, hushpuppies, and roast beef. The crab legs were OK but hard to crack especially without the tools I like to use. Servers are well trained to clear plates and provide whatever else you need.

Thank jpftx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Sounds like you had a great time with us – it's our pleasure! From our service to our buffet, our goal is always to make sure our guests leave happy and full. Thanks for this wonderful 4-star review. Come back and see us again soon, OK?

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing