We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bountiful buffet”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We enjoyed great service while stuffing ourselves with the $20 buffet. Loved the cold shrimp, hushpuppies, and roast beef. The crab legs were OK but hard to crack especially without the tools I like to use. Servers are well trained to clear plates and provide whatever else you need.

Thank jpftx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Sounds like you had a great time with us – it's our pleasure! From our service to our buffet, our goal is always to make sure our guests leave happy and full. Thanks for this wonderful 4-star review. Come back and see us again soon, OK?

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,660 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Louie's Backyard is a "must visit" on every trip to the Island. We've enjoyed the Thursday night ribs but our favourite place is the dining room early bird dinners with our friends. George, our waiter on Wed. night provided excellent service The men all enjoyed the prime rib and the ladies all tried a different entrée with the salad bar included. No one was disappointed. It is a fantastic place to sit outside and watch the sun go down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Sounds like we really showed y'all a great time, Marlene! Thanks for sharing your experience here on Yelp. We love that we're on your list of must-visit spots when you visit SPI. Appreciate the support! It's our pleasure to serve you delicious food with a gorgeous view on the side.

See you next time,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Went down to the island with some friends this weekend and Louie's definitely made up for the cloudy day. The food and drinks were delicious as usual and our waiter, Josh was courteous and beyond accommodating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank candyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Happy to be a bright spot on a cloudy day! Glad you made it down to see us. I appreciate you taking the time to rave about our food, drinks and Josh (I'll be sure to let him know about this shout-out). See you soon!

Cheers,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our waitress, Marianna, did a great job serving our large family group during our recent visit. Wide variety of menu options was also good. Enjoyed sitting outside for dinner watching the sunset over the bay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunflower9030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

There's nothing like enjoying your dinner with a side of a gorgeous sunset, right? So glad you had a great time with us! Hope to see you again the next time you're on the island.

Until then,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

So my husband suprised with a dinner at the Louie's Saturday night! I must I say it was great! The buffet was superb, I had some crabs legs while my husband enjoyed the prime rib. The piña coladas hit the spot and I got to keep the mug for only $5!! Best part of the dinner was the service. A big shout out to server Josh!!! Can't wait to go again...and we are gonna request him :) Big thumbs up!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neenerzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Ecstatic to be part of the birthday surprise! Thanks for including us (and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor). We appreciate your kind words on our service and food. Josh is great, but just so you know, service like that is the norm, not the exception here! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing