We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Wings Cool Prices”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Sayville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot Wings Cool Prices”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Louie's Backyard is a must see when visiting South Padre Island. Wing Wednesday is definitely worth it! 25 cent wings in a variety of flavors. You will definitely need one of their signature pina coladas to wash down the atomic hot. A great deal especially during Happy Hour.

Large open setting overlooking the Bay with sport tables, and big screens for sports fans. Children are allowed which makes this a great location for the whole family to grab a bite in a fun and informal atmosphere.

The service is prompt and the food is hot and fresh. We had Justin as a server. He was fun, friendly and efficient. He anticipated our needs and ensured that we had an excellent meal experience. We will return to this location and definitely recommend this restaurant and Justin to others.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for the Wing Wednesday plug! We're glad you enjoyed your wings. You're a brave soul for eating the atomic hot ones! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and are looking forward to seeing you next time!

Until then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    507
    247
    128
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Some of my friends and I decided to stop in and have a few drinks and it was amazing!!!!! Steve our server was awesome. He was very nice and generous and very patient. I will definitely return to Louie's backyard

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsthomas919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We're patiently awaiting your return back to South Padre Island! Thanks for this great review. I'll be sure to let Steve to know about the shout out you gave him. Sounds like your experience with us was one for the books!

See you soon,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a great time and everything was delicious! My fiancee says that our bartender, Steve, made her the best margarita she has ever had! Everyone was friendly here. Next time we are in South Texas, we are definitely coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Best margarita ever? We're ecstatic! Thanks for this wonderful review, Zack. We're happy to have created an awesome experience for both you and your fiancee. Come back and see us soon!

Until then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food & excellent service!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We hadn't been to Louies in a while so we decided to make the drive to s.p.I. We went and enjoyed their buffet and we weren't disappointed, everything from the crab legs to the shrimp was awesome! Our server ray was very friendly we'll definitely be back soon!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayjess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Sounds like you needed your "Louie's fix." That's what happens when you go too long without seeing us! Glad to hear you enjoyed our buffet and service. I'll be sure to let Ray know you gave him a shout out in this review. Thanks for taking the time to share your most recent experience!

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“MUST do in Texas--one of the best”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We ate here years ago--very good. Now it is EXCELLENT--ribs and more shrimp dishes added Good food -good service- good atmosphere--wht else do you need.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for this wonderful 5-star review, Mike! Sounds like it's been a while since you've seen us, but we're happy to have exceeded your expectations. Don't let too much time go by before coming to see us again!

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing