We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPI good place to eat”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Although we have stayed from June to October on long weekends at Isla Blanca Park for the past three years, we had never actually eaten out much at SPI because we tend to grill out alot with friends. On one of those weekends when we were alone, we decided to eat at Louie's Backyard. We had not been there in over twenty years bcuz we were living out-of-state until 3 years ago. We had a great meal. We had a very friendly and attentive waiter named Steve. Now we know where to go eat when we are not grilling at our RV park. We will let our friends know at the park and you may see a group of us there soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Leti, so glad you decided to break your 20-year drought and see us. It sounds like Steve really took care of you. Looking forward to seeing you and your friends (the more the merrier) on our deck very soon. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,899 - 1,903 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

At first sight I assumed that because it was so huge it would take forever to get a table. Surprisingly the hostess was real nice and it only took a few moments to get our group a table. Our server Steve was on the ball like a circus seal! He recommended some amazing drinks, the buffet was crazy good! I posted pics of my crab legs on instagram and my friends were so jealous! ha ha. I'm definitely coming back to louies! The upstairs bar of course was high energy and definitely .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fl0wbie1ken0bie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

There's nothing like making your friends jealous with the perfect food Instagram picture! Glad we could help, fl0wbie1ken0bie. We are so happy you were pleasantly surprised by our service and food during your visit. I'll be sure to pass on your hilarious and kind words about Steve to him. Come back and see us again soon!

Thanks,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us and we highly recommend it to others.The food is great, the view is great, our waiter was Abe and he was awesome!! He was friendly and very helpful. Will be eating here everytime I'm in SPI!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donniekramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks for the 5-star review, donniekramer. We're glad the recommendation proved to be an excellent one. With a gorgeous view, good food, and great service, you can't go wrong! Looking forward to seeing you again next time you're in SPI! And I will be sure to tell Abe you thought he was awesome.

Thanks again,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visiting friends on Island, all went to dinner, this place suggested...my first time there. Loved the atmosphere, beautiful bay view. Had great waiter-young man named Steve who walked us through menu and wine/drinks list, made excellent suggestions-did not let us down....I love the food, I opted for the buffet...wow!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marikita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Marikita, we're happy to hear your first time with us was a great one. It's a little nerve-wracking to try to live up to the expectations set by a recommendation, but I'm glad we succeeded! I will be sure to let Steve know how much you all enjoyed having him as your server. He definitely will appreciate your shout out. Please come back and see us the next time your visiting your friends!

Thanks for this great review.

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our server was Steve. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was great. We sat on the patio and through our scraps to the catfish in the bay. It was fun watching all the catfish eating. If your in Padre you gotta eat at Louie's!!! The atmosphere is great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jawschum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Jawschum, happy to have impressed you during your visit with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Steve and encourage him to keep up the great work. It sounds like by the end of your time with us the catfish were as full and satisfied as y'all were!

Thanks for the recommendation and taking the time to write this review.

See you next time,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing