We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Blossom, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate at Louie's Backyard while in South Padre. They have an all you can eat buffet that was awesome. Crab Legs - Crab Cakes - BBQ Ribs - Prime Rib - Fried Fish - Grilled Fish - Fried Shrimp - Boiled Shrimp - Loaded Bake Potatoes - Cant name it all. They also had good dessert. Its located right on the water and you can eat inside or outside. This was one of our favorite places to eat and it did not cost near what you would think to eat there. Adult was about $20 and kids 12 and under on the same buffet was only $8. It had great staff working there. If you get dessert there keep in mind that one slice of their awesome chocolate cake is big enough to feed 3 people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Lee, so glad to hear y'all enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for this great review. It sounds like our buffet did not disappoint! Did you end up having a favorite item in the buffet? You named a lot of food, but we'd love to know what the family favorite was. We're honored you consider us one of your favorite places to eat.

Hope to see you on your next visit to SPI. We've got lots of seafood and chocolate cake waiting for you.

Take care,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    469
    237
    123
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“never ever go here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

looks like its stuck in the 80's. the food was terrible took an hour to get out my pasta and the buffet food was chewy. they refuse to let you order off of the kids menu if you are over 11. the waiter took my drink to "refill" it and i had to ask for it back 30 min later. none of the food is fresh including the dissert which tasted like it sat in the fridge for weeks. all in all never ever going back!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us, and I'm disappointed the food and service wasn't to your liking. Were you able to speak to a manager about the your concerns? Letting a manager know you're unhappy is an easy way to resolve issues right away. Nonetheless, I appreciate your feedback and will bring your comments to the staff. Chewy food and forgetful service is unacceptable. Our food is fresh, so the fact that it didn't taste that way is upsetting. That written, I hope you will consider giving us another chance.

Thanks for your time,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Seafood Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We all loved our meals (fried shrimp, grilled shrimp, salmon and buffet). The food tasted fresh. My husband had the buffet which was really well stocked and had tons of fresh crab that he said was super tasty. Our waiter was super friendly and always there when we needed something. It was a great way to start our vacation!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheCeccos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for your review. Glad you chose us to kick off your vacation! Great food, great staff — great to hear! I plan on letting our staff and kitchen know what you guys thought of your time with us. Hope to see you again while you're in the area. We're a great place to end your vacation, too!

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Only tried the downstairs dining room, not the upstairs bar, but it was sorely lacking in most every area. The Seafood buffet was "ehhh" Shrimp scampi wasn't bad, but the fried items were rubbery and tasteless. The prime rib was decent, but cold. The ribs were not all that hot. Our server was barely there, forgetting my wife's cocktail and never supplying steak knives or crab crackers until we were done with our meal. Place felt dirty and not at all a pleasant atmosphere. Not headed back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Richard, I'm sorry we disappointed you on your visit. It's absolutely not the kind of experience we want for our customers. I will speak with the staff and kitchen about your feedback. Both cold food in the buffet and barely-there service are unacceptable, we'll double down on both of these issues from here on out. Did you end up sharing your feelings with the manager on duty? I'd recommend doing so next time, this way we can address your concerns right away.

Thanks for your feedback, and I hope you'll reconsider and give us another try!

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, lame atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Apparently "adult" beverages are served to you as though you are a child in a plastic cup (adult prices none the less) and there is a cover charge to listen to recorded music- not live
Bartender was rude and staff bland - skip it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank firedragon3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us! We work hard to be the top entertainment spot on South Padre Island, and it's unfortunate that we disappointed you while you were here. Sometimes we do charge a cover for special guest DJs, and it looks like you came on one of those nights. Rude staff is never appropriate, and if you didn't this time, I hope next time you'll bring it to the attention of the manager.

Thanks for your feedback, and hopefully you'll give us another chance next time you're in SPI.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing