We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backyard Buffet”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The buffet is outstanding--lots of seafood choices and sides with a beautiful patio to enjoy the sunset on the water. Open for dinner with live entertainment, too. Good place for big groups. We have eaten here twice and always stop in when we are in South Padre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

ProfDallas, glad you love the buffet! We're honored to be your go-to restaurant on the island, and we look forward to seeing you all again! Best, Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,875 - 1,879 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Not worth the money.. We got the table right beside the buffet line.So there was always someone standing right over our heads. Waiter was very friendly though and took care of us.

Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Melissa, I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't have the best experience with us. I hope you'll decide to give us a second chance. I know we're capable of better. Hopefully, we'll see you again sometime! Best, Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Cockroaches running across our feet. Really. the food was cold. the buffet is a joke especially for $20 and it was a real big disappointment. Wait staff was ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a great dinner at Louie's and got to watch an awesome fireworks show over the bay. There was something for everyone to choose from. We had a big group and a few people who don't like seafood. They had plenty eat and everyone left happy.

We did have to wait some time to get seated but it was well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

I'm glad we were worth the wait, Carolyn! It's great to hear that everyone had a great time. Come see us again soon! Best, Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was in Padre for a weekend and ended up going here for the nightlife on both nights. The first night, the restaurant was packed due to the fact that there was fireworks shows so my friend and I ended up going to the bar. There were lot of tables but you couldn't tell if there was waitress or menus so it was quite confusing. We ended up going to the bar and getting drinks and the waitress finally came with a menu. They have a few appetizer-type foods in the bar area - chicken wings, nachos, etc. Once the food came out, it was pretty good. They do have a dj and some night live music and it does end up getting very packed by midnight.

The second night, we ate in the actual restaurant and we were able to sit outside with a view of the water. They do offer a buffet for about $20, which is about the same price as their main entrees. My friend ordered the buffet which had salad, crab legs, shrimp scampi, prime ribs, etc. I ordered a steak with shrimp and baked potato. Everything was good, and our server was very nice.

When your meals is done, the staff will throw all your food scraps in the water for the fish to eat. You can also throw food out to the fish while you eat. Not sure if that is really interesting but it does need to be noted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dawheat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

dawheat77, thanks for taking the time to write a review! I'm happy to hear that after getting a bit used to the crowd (there's always a big one with fireworks), you both had a good time. Hope to see you guys again sometime! Best, Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing