We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, fresh, fresh”
Review of Captain Donut

Captain Donut
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fresh, fresh, fresh”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The smell as you walk in says it all. The donuts here are fresh and GOOD. There is a good variety of yeast and glazed donuts, but your eyes are drawn to the cinnamon rolls. Some are topped with nuts, another variety includes apples. We tried the straight cinnamon rolls and boy are they good. One is enough for two or more. We bought an extra and took it to a friend's for dessert that night. For cake donut lovers, the cake donuts were plain. I asked if they would customize them for me with frosting and they topped them just the way I wanted. Great service. Be sure to try the blueberry cake. I was skeptical, but one bite and I wanted more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HalleGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    13
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Hood, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best donuts I've ever had!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The donuts are fresh and delicious! The glazed were my favorite. Staff was very friendly! Next time you're looking for a place to have breakfast, choose Captain Donut, you won't regret it!

Helpful?
Thank destinyyautumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, IA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Haven't had fresh donuts like these for a long time!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

On our first morning walk around SPI, we ran into Captain Donut. Friendly staff, great coffee and melt in your mouth glazed donuts. They also make these huge cinnamon rolls with apple pieces infused in the dough. One of the staff said it was his grandma's recipe and you could tell. It was just like what grandma would make! They do not sell day old donuts. The prices were really good also. Ask Chris if he gave in and already had a donut. He fights temptation everyday he goes to work. At least that is his story.... My husband dreams about donuts from the Captain!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Donuts on the island”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Lots of variety. I thought the donuts were too cake like and heavy and prefer a lighter donut. But I got my sweet fix in!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank firenicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Donut Shop”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

What a unique find on the Island! Last time I was on SPI, Captain Donut wasn't around. I'm so glad it was this trip! A very clean shop that is relaxing for a good breakfast treat. They serve Green Mountain coffee which has a great K-cup selection. The donuts were deliciously fresh fried and the icing were just perfect; not too light but not too much either. Classic flavors to unique flavors that are always changing. If you're looking for a sweet breakfast, spot here for a good donut or a GREAT mountain of a cinnamon roll!

Helpful?
1 Thank PJKandACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Donut also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captain Donut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing