We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent lower cost condo”
Review of Gulf View

Gulf View
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf View
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Gulfview 1, is an older condo complex and the southern end of the island. Its clean, and well maintained. Our room, 511, was also clean and adequatley stocked with all the things that you are likely to need. There is no laundry facility inside the condo. The downside to this complex is that it attracts families with small children, lots of them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were a group of 6 people, we stayed for 2 nights.
Everything was pefect! we loved the condo, 202, it had all the things needed for a kitchen, the beds were comfortable and it had enough space.

We were told that we had to wear bracelets to be in the pool, and if they were lost we would pay a 25 dll fine for each one. These are blue rubber bracelets, and when I checked out the lady at the office asked me if all bracelets were in the room.. I did not know that we had to return them, and then she pointed to the contract were it said if it was lost 25 dlls would be charged, but I assumed that meant DURING the stay, nowhere did it state that after we left, we had to leave them, so if you plan on staying here put them back in your room!

Overall, this is a great place! Cammy was VERY helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJHC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Pearl has got to be a Must Stay place. My friends and I had such a great experience that we are already planning our next trip down there. The staff was so nice and helpful, they really knew their way around the island. The view we had off of our balcony was incredible. The pool was really cool having the heated wet bar, it made it very convenient for the guests. Everything about this hotel was great.

Room Tip: The two bedroom condo on the 12th floor is a must! The balcony is really big, and the view is incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Some friends and I decided to go to South Padre for spring break and staying at the Pearl had to have been one of the best decions we made. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. The view was unbelivable and the pool was awesome. The beds were really comfortable. All in all we had the experience of our lives. I will definitely be coming back to the Pearl everytime I come back to South Padre.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed in Gulf View II room 111, nice place. Enjoyed the stay a lot. Will say that the pool area wasn't as clean as it should be...but in all had a great time! Will be going again!
Sonja Axelrod
Garland, Texas

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonjaaxelrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

we stayed at Gulf view I room 110 it was great it was a pool front 1 bedroom condo, everything was great also had a pull out sofa, the pool was clean we had music and no one was bother also they have 2 cazebos which you have to get up early to get one.. will definetly stay there again. pool closes at 11pm. mattres need to be updated and pillows .

Room Tip: room was infront of pool it was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgutierrez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

First they charge a hundred dollars for deposit, fine, then there is an additional forty dollars charge for basic cleaning then boom the rest of the amount for staying there - total for 2 nights was $544.05. We stayed in room 202 it had the convenience of dishes to cook there but the shower was backed up soooooo gross. That in itself is inconvenient to have to call someone to fix. I am a neat freak, I made sure the place stayed as neat as possible I swept picked up all the trash, washed all the dishes cleaned with a rag the countertops, tables, etc. All I left was the trashbags (didn't know where to throw the big bags) and beds unmade. Well they didn't return my deposit claiming the place was filthy. In short they are thieves and liars.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guerreroclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
#4 of 35 in South Padre Island
74 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
#8 of 35 in South Padre Island
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Vista Condos
Sea Vista Condos
#6 of 35 in South Padre Island
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View

Address: 130 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6505
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Specialty Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range: $136 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gulf View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf View Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing