We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar

Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sea Ranch Restaurant has been serving South Padre Island visitors for over 35 years, and has established itself as the island’s premier dining destination. If you haven’t spent an evening at the Sea Ranch Restaurant, you haven’t truly experienced South Padre.Our menu is comprised of local seafood that is caught directly from the Gulf of Mexico, and it changes often based on what is in season. Every item is made with high-quality ingredients, from unbeatably fresh seafood to juicy steaks and hearty pastas. Start your meal off with our Ahi Tuna or Escargot appetizers, or try something a little spicier like our Stuffed Jalapeños. For your main course, pick from one of our countless seafood items including fresh fish, crab legs, shrimp, oysters, lobster and scallops. Our house specialty is the Red Snapper, which has become a customer favorite as well. If you aren’t in the mood for seafood, try one of our delicious grilled steak, chicken or pork dishes. We also have decadent pastas, from chicken or seafood Alfredo to Scott’s Shrimp Scampi served over angel hair pasta. No matter what you are in the mood for, we have a tasty, fresh option for you at Sea Ranch Restaurant.Seafood goes perfectly with wine, so we boast an extensive selection of wines. With over 122 choices ranging from $20 all the way to $500, we have the perfect choice to compliment your meal. If you have an event coming up, consider hosting it at the Sea Ranch. We can accommodate up to 77 people for anything from weddings and receptions to birthdays and meetings.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went here because of some very positive reviews. The waiter was good and had the chef make something special for us. He was almost too eager to please. The food however was just mediocre. It was too greasy and didn't sit well on my stomach. It also needed more seasoning. Both my wife and I felt it was just okay. We had better seafood elsewhere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank harlings4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We're certainly eager to please our guests, and I'm sorry to hear that you and your wife weren't more impressed with your meals here. I'm confident that we could serve you something you loved if we got another chance! Please consider visiting us again if you're ever in the area.

Best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    230
    91
    27
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

One of the nicer restaurants on the island, we were happy that it met our expectations.
The local was classy, the service great and the food excellent.
Fine bar, to boot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit, Morten, and I'm so appreciative of this great review. Please visit us again if you're ever in the area -- we'd love to welcome you!

Best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Food Quality and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Sea Ranch is the most consistent High end restaurant in the area. Ask for the fresh seafood and normally Red Snapper, Tuna , Oysters and shrimp are available. Have never been disappointed. Always great service. Eddie is the best!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for this outstanding feedback, Richard, and I'll be sure to let Eddie know that he's done a great job. Many thanks for your recommendation, and we all hope to serve you fresh seafood again in the very near future!

Best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Indifferent staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

4 of us had appetizers and drinks during "Happy Hour" which we thought might mean cheaper drink prices and maybe the appitizers, but no. No alpha ppt hour prices on apps at all and only on a few drinks. Bad beer choices. Only hall our Mussels were open after cooking, so they we had to pay for them, but couldn't eat but half. Told the server and the bar manager, but they didn't care and didn't offer even a small discount, a half order on them or ???

Won't be back to this overpriced bar and restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank KiteboardingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I must admit I'm surprised to hear this, Tom, as it's unlike the feedback we usually receive from our guests. I hope you'll accept my sincerest apologies for any issues you had. I agree that someone should have looked into this or brought you some more. I'm very sorry, and I can only hope you'll opt to give us a second chance!

Best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

First time we have been here to South Padre, and to Sea Ranch. I have to say the food was delicious. The staff was friendly, and we didn't have to wait long to be seated. We will definitely come back!!

Helpful?
Thank Brandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We can't wait to have you back, Brandi! Thanks so much for the excellent review, and for choosing to visit us while you were in South Padre. We hope your next visit is very soon!

All the best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing