We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food, awesome service, awesome views”

Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sea Ranch Restaurant has been serving South Padre Island visitors for over 35 years, and has established itself as the island’s premier dining destination. If you haven’t spent an evening at the Sea Ranch Restaurant, you haven’t truly experienced South Padre.Our menu is comprised of local seafood that is caught directly from the Gulf of Mexico, and it changes often based on what is in season. Every item is made with high-quality ingredients, from unbeatably fresh seafood to juicy steaks and hearty pastas. Start your meal off with our Ahi Tuna or Escargot appetizers, or try something a little spicier like our Stuffed Jalapeños. For your main course, pick from one of our countless seafood items including fresh fish, crab legs, shrimp, oysters, lobster and scallops. Our house specialty is the Red Snapper, which has become a customer favorite as well. If you aren’t in the mood for seafood, try one of our delicious grilled steak, chicken or pork dishes. We also have decadent pastas, from chicken or seafood Alfredo to Scott’s Shrimp Scampi served over angel hair pasta. No matter what you are in the mood for, we have a tasty, fresh option for you at Sea Ranch Restaurant.Seafood goes perfectly with wine, so we boast an extensive selection of wines. With over 122 choices ranging from $20 all the way to $500, we have the perfect choice to compliment your meal. If you have an event coming up, consider hosting it at the Sea Ranch. We can accommodate up to 77 people for anything from weddings and receptions to birthdays and meetings.
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food, awesome service, awesome views”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The food was awesome. I had the flounder and shrimp combo and the rice pilaf was outstanding. Our server, Joel, couldn't have been more attentive. We had a window seat which made the experience even better. The atmosphere was casual, but upscale at the same time. We will definitely return next time we are in Padre. The reviews of this place were right on the mark. Thanks, again, Joel, for making it an evening to remember.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdh7931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I'll be sure to pass along your praise and appreciation to Joel -- I'm so glad he took such great care of you. We take great pride in the freshness and quality of our seafood, and I'm happy you were so fond of the flounder and the shrimp. Thank you for visiting, and I look forward to your next trip to Padre!

All the best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    236
    93
    27
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Food on the Island”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary and we were treated like royalty. We had champagne and the whole 9 yards. The server was very friendly and would do anything she could to
make our evening an experience to remember. Our meal was wonderful and we enjoyed the view from our window seat. The sunset is remarkable. A great place to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m35sr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
This is a lovely review, and I'm honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us. I'm so happy that we made it an evening to remember. Please come see us again soon -- you'll always be royalty here!

All the best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

No tourist trap here, folks. This restaurant could thrive in any city even if it were in a strip mall with a view of dumpsters. I was thoroughly impressed with the food and atmosphere. It's much more upscale than most places on Padre

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Wow, Mark! This means a lot to me. Thanks for the high praise, and I'm so glad we gave you such a memorable meal. Please come see us again when you're next in the area -- it will be our pleasure to serve you.

Best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Option”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

First visit to SPI. We tried Sea Ranch based on other reviews. Food and service we excellent! Stuffed Jalapeños and crab cakes we fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I'm glad you came, and very happy to hear that you found the food and service to be so great. (The stuffed jalapenos and crab cakes are both personal favorites!) Thanks for sharing this excellent review, and please come visit again the next time you're in SPI!

All the best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty solid”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Good option for dinner especially if you are on the south part of he island. Good seafood and ambiance.

Didn't rate it higher because not the type of restaurant I come to the island for.

Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Though I'm happy to hear you liked our food and atmosphere, I'm sorry we didn't rank higher with you, Molly. I hope you'll consider giving us another chance to earn a better rating -- even if we're not your usual style. See you soon!

Best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing