We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”

Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sea Ranch Restaurant has been serving South Padre Island visitors for over 35 years, and has established itself as the island’s premier dining destination. If you haven’t spent an evening at the Sea Ranch Restaurant, you haven’t truly experienced South Padre.Our menu is comprised of local seafood that is caught directly from the Gulf of Mexico, and it changes often based on what is in season. Every item is made with high-quality ingredients, from unbeatably fresh seafood to juicy steaks and hearty pastas. Start your meal off with our Ahi Tuna or Escargot appetizers, or try something a little spicier like our Stuffed Jalapeños. For your main course, pick from one of our countless seafood items including fresh fish, crab legs, shrimp, oysters, lobster and scallops. Our house specialty is the Red Snapper, which has become a customer favorite as well. If you aren’t in the mood for seafood, try one of our delicious grilled steak, chicken or pork dishes. We also have decadent pastas, from chicken or seafood Alfredo to Scott’s Shrimp Scampi served over angel hair pasta. No matter what you are in the mood for, we have a tasty, fresh option for you at Sea Ranch Restaurant.Seafood goes perfectly with wine, so we boast an extensive selection of wines. With over 122 choices ranging from $20 all the way to $500, we have the perfect choice to compliment your meal. If you have an event coming up, consider hosting it at the Sea Ranch. We can accommodate up to 77 people for anything from weddings and receptions to birthdays and meetings.
Weiser, Idaho
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food is very excellent here. The seafood is very fresh and the salads were crispy.The bread fresh and warm Expect higher prices.Very clean. But we had very poor service. The other tables as we were waiting had good servers. We were a family of 7, three adults and 4 children. For some reason our server did not want to give us the time of day almost. We had to complain to the manager. .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmcelhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, I'm glad to hear you were pleased with your food! Again, I'd like to apologize for the service you experienced. I assure you this is not the typical dinning experience, and that the staff has been made aware that this was a slip in our normal level of service. I hope you'll all return again soon so we can show you what an excellent evening at Sea Ranch is all about!

Take care,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    232
    93
    27
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uvalde, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, very pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Birthday dinner, restaurant was beautiful, everything was very, very expensive. Great views of the water and the seafood was fresh. Good for special occasions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank crystal a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Crystal, thanks for celebrating your birthday with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your evening, and that the views and were great. Our fans don't mind paying a little more for excellent quality seafood and spectacular views, and I hope you'll agree! We'd love to see you on the next big occasion.

Take care,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Alta Vista
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“House dressing: Raspberry Vinaigrette. Need I say more?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My red snapper was really, really good. My daughter's fettuccini alfredo was something the rest of the table could not stop eating. Our pre-dinner drinks were pretty darn good. My son's fried shrimp looked great. My husband's steak?? An insult to filet mignon. You can tell right off, that this place is not aspiring to major culinary excellence. It more reminded my husband of "Ralph and Kacoo's for those in the know. The high prices make you think that there's some high falootin' chef back in the kitchen, but raspberry vinaigrette over iceberg lettuce and carrot shavings told a different story. Service was awesome!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zzzzwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad to hear you were a big fan of the red snapper, and that your daughter enjoyed our fettucini alfredo as well.

We're concerned about your husband's steak, and would love to know more about what went wrong. We want every guest to have a 5-star experience, and that means everyone! Please give us a call so we can work out what happened with the steak, and make things right: (956) 761-1314

Looking forward to hearing from you,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kasson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner, view and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Liked the Red snapper! Atmosphere very nice! Rasberry vinegrette was amazing as the waiter suggested adding bleu cheese too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your review, Lisa. I'm happy to hear the red snapper and raspberry vinaigrette were both big hits! We're glad you loved the view and the service, and hope you'll be joining us again the next time you're in town.

All the best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great adult dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere right next to the water. Not a good spot to take your kids. It is more of an adult place with linen tablecloths & fine dining. It can be pricey but quality of food & service makes it worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shenean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for your excellent review, Shenean, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our atmosphere by the water, food and service! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit to the island.

Kind regards,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing