We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service..good food..above average price”

Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sea Ranch Restaurant has been serving South Padre Island visitors for over 35 years, and has established itself as the island’s premier dining destination. If you haven’t spent an evening at the Sea Ranch Restaurant, you haven’t truly experienced South Padre.Our menu is comprised of local seafood that is caught directly from the Gulf of Mexico, and it changes often based on what is in season. Every item is made with high-quality ingredients, from unbeatably fresh seafood to juicy steaks and hearty pastas. Start your meal off with our Ahi Tuna or Escargot appetizers, or try something a little spicier like our Stuffed Jalapeños. For your main course, pick from one of our countless seafood items including fresh fish, crab legs, shrimp, oysters, lobster and scallops. Our house specialty is the Red Snapper, which has become a customer favorite as well. If you aren’t in the mood for seafood, try one of our delicious grilled steak, chicken or pork dishes. We also have decadent pastas, from chicken or seafood Alfredo to Scott’s Shrimp Scampi served over angel hair pasta. No matter what you are in the mood for, we have a tasty, fresh option for you at Sea Ranch Restaurant.Seafood goes perfectly with wine, so we boast an extensive selection of wines. With over 122 choices ranging from $20 all the way to $500, we have the perfect choice to compliment your meal. If you have an event coming up, consider hosting it at the Sea Ranch. We can accommodate up to 77 people for anything from weddings and receptions to birthdays and meetings.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service..good food..above average price”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I loved my meal, grilled flounder,scallops and shrimp...the price range on Trip Advisor is misleading....I did not see any meal for 10.00 they begin at $20.00. Having said that this was the best server I have had in years...JOEL made us feel at ease in ordering suggested great food and was attentive. he was worth the visit...the food is worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Karrie,

Thanks so much for your review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our food and that Joel did an excellent job! I'm sorry you felt misled about our price point. We do offer fresh, quality ingredients, and our fans know they're getting a great value. We hope you felt the same way after trying it! Looking forward to your next meal with us.

Regards,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    240
    95
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antelope, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Full service restaurant on SPI”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Sea Ranch has been around along time and stays pretty full because food is over all very good and the bay views are nice. Try the seating on the top floor next to the windows, very scenic. Prices are a bit more than average but service is quite good and there is something for everyone. Many of the dishes such as shrimp and red fish are locally caught fish, so much fresher than frozen. I go there frequently especially when I am craving good bread. The hot french loaves are wonderful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for your review, Carol. We're so glad to have the support of loyal guests like you! It's always a pleasure to see you, and we'll look forward to your next visit.

Take care,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive and So-so”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

8 of us. their meat ( whether meat or fish) was dry. 3 diff plates of flounder cooked differently ... Dry, no taste, no seasoning. One had coconut shrimp and was good. Scalloped potatoes very good, scallops good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank unclegrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for reaching out to us about your recent meal. I'm glad the scalloped potatoes and coconut shrimp were delicious, but sorry to hear the meat and fish dishes were dry. We take a lot of care to serve only moist, tasty fish and meat, and that doesn't sound like our standard fare. I hope you'll forgive this misstep and give us another chance the next time you're on the Island.

Take care,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We ate at this restaurant while on a business trip with my husband in April. We LOVED it! Had a large party, and our waiter handled our group to perfection! Everyone loved what they ordered, and the decor was really great...huge aquarium in the restaurant, festive blue interior paint and ocean decor everywhere. The wait was not bad at all, and again, the food was great! Pricey, but seafood usually is. Worth every penny at this restaurant! Would eat there again if ever back in South Padre Island, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to enjoy some great seafood!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for your glowing review, Becky! We're so happy you and your husband enjoyed everything, and that the waiter did a great job with your large party. We look forward to seeing you and your husband again when you're back in Padre.

Cheers,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a little bit retro, a lot tasty”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Sea Ranch has that cool old-school seafood restaurant feel--lots of fake marlins on the wall and paintings of ships--but the food was definitely above average for the genre. They have a great selection of fresh, local fish, and also some farther-flung catches like lobster and ahi. I had the daily special, which was a pan-roasted Gulf snapper in a rosemary cream sauce with spicy Gulf shrimp and a wild rice and mushroom pilaf. Everything was perfectly prepared and delicious. The wait staff were friendly and attentive. If I'm ever back in South Padre, I would definitely go back to the Sea Ranch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank amynala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our fresh food, and that the staff was friendly and attentive. It's always great to hear from guests. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're on the Island.

All the best,
Bob Friedman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Ranch Restaurant-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing