We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family fun!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Reserved three rooms for an over night. Staff was extremely friendly since check-in. The rooms are humid but what is to be expected being by the beach and Texas weather in August. Overall room was nice. Bed had a hard matress but it didn't matter because by time we fell asleep, we knocked out. The pool didn't have enough towels for guest as soon as they were being used they were being washed but not quick enough. The breakfast was good for being complementary and even had an omelet bar... the line was long but worth the small wait.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We highly appreciate your time to comment on our facilities and services. Your recognition for our staff and especially the hotel brings us great pleasure and we truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back to South Padre Island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    328
    132
    65
    76
See reviews for
419
325
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at La Copa Inn for a family wedding weekend. If we had stayed any longer or if this had been an actual family vacation I would have been EXTREMELY disappointed. I will never stay again at this hotel.

Problem #1:
We booked a 2 bedroom family "suite" and were assigned Room 202, which was actually a bedroom & living room where the living/kitchen area had been converted to a bedroom by the hotel removing the couch and sticking 2 queen beds in the living space and calling it a "second bedroom". As a result, the front door opened directly into one of the bedrooms (meaning whoever was in the farthest bedroom had to walk through the second room to enter or leave the suite - no privacy for changing or sleeping!). Also, the shared bathroom was inside the second bedroom (meaning whoever was in the first bedroom had to walk into the second bedroom to disturb those patrons to use the restroom - again no privacy!). Bottom line, no common area in this "suite" AT ALL (I can't believe they even call it a suite - false advertisement, in my opinion) - it was basically like connecting hotel rooms except one room had no bathroom. There was a fridge, microwave, sink, stove, table with 2 chairs, and T.V. in the entry bedroom, which was a little awkward sleeping in that space and NO WINDOW, which made it a bit dingy, dark and depressing. Pretty awful. The lighting was terrible in the entry room - just two dim overhead lights and a bedside lamp. One of the overhead lights was out when we arrived and we asked the front desk to send maintenance to change the bulb, but that never happened (we weren't really surprised). The bathroom air vent needed to be cleaned - dark dust was clinging to it and coming down the wall a little. Normal for any vent, but most $300/night hotels maintenance this by wiping the vents or vacuuming as part of the regular cleaning schedule. Our suite room was tiled, which just feels more "icky" when you are at the beach. We were constantly wiping sand away from everything and getting it all over our feet - in our own hotel room! We paid almost $600 for our 2 nights in this suite and it was one of the worst hotel living spaces I've every been in (in terms of floor plan, lighting, dinginess, etc). Now I know why there are NO PICTURES of the family "suites" on the La Copa website. The suites are NOTHING like the room pictures on the website.

Problem #2
The hotel knew we had 6 guests staying in our suite, yet when we arrived we had 4 towels and, one tiny bottle of shampoo and one tiny bottle of the worst conditioner on the planet. We were able to ask the front desk for additional towels and were immediately accommodated, but we had to ask EVERY DAY for more towels as the maids would consistently only leave 4. We would have loved to hang our towels for reuse, but there was no space to hang more than 2 towels. We ended up going to Walmart for decent shampoo and soap (I usually bring my own, but thought since it was a short stay we could make do with the "resort" shampoo - wrong).
I also agree with the review about the shower curtain - it was too short for the shower rod, resulting in water getting everywhere as the curtain would not stay closed (the rod arcs out to give the illusion of more space in the shower, which is nice, but the curtains should accommodate this as well).

Problem #3
Breakfast. Ugh. The food was not the problem. It was not great, but everything was decent (cold cereal, scrambled eggs Florentine with tortillas and beans, bagels, muffins) except the coffee, which was horrible - watered down and flavorless. The problem with breakfast was the unorganized, crowded chaos. The omelet station took 25 minutes due to the line of people and due to people ordering 2-3 omelets at a time. But the omelets were very good once you got them. People were running all over the place, jumping in front of the line to grab "one quick thing" and kids were not supervised (though that is not the hotel's problem - just an indication of the kind of people you will mingle with if you stay here). The BIGGEST problem with breakfast was the overflowing trash cans by 9am. Every dish and utensil the hotel used was disposable (I shudder to think of how much waste that creates on a daily basis, but again....not the issue) so of course all that disposable waste gets thrown into one of 3 trashcans in the breakfast ball room. The hotel staff apparently does not change the trashcans during breakfast - only afterward. It was disgusting to see trashcans overflowing with food, half empty cups and soiled paper products. Not to mention you had no place to throw away your own trash. The experience was so awful for us, we skipped out on the "free breakfast" our second morning and opted to eat out.

What was GOOD about this hotel:
Location --
The boardwalk to the beach was great - very short walk. The view was amazing, the water was gorgeous, the beach was clean. You can rent umbrellas with 2 chairs out on the beach for $30 all day, so it's nice not to have to bring your own stuff. The pool area at the hotel was wonderful in the afternoons when you start getting some natural shade over the cabana lounge chairs (again - great view, nice breeze), but during the early and midday there are not enough umbrellas on the hotel deck for lounge chair shade (you can sit under shaded tables, however, or high barstool type chairs that are shaded along the perimeter of the deck). There are showers on the deck to rinse off after coming in from the beach and there is music playing out by the pool. The poolside bar serves yummy, icy adult drinks. There is a very warm, friendly feeling in this area of the hotel. We really enjoyed letting the kids play and having the option of doing the pool and/or the beach with minimal effort on our part.
Beds --
The beds were firm, but very comfortable and the linens were clean and fresh. Our room was cool. We slept well, but we were in a dark cocoon with no window so that is to be expected.

CONCLUSION:
This just felt like a run down, poorly designed hotel that may have been a real gem 10 years ago, but has not been maintained and is not interested anymore in providing a quality experience to its guests. It's really a shame because the location is so nice and the deck area is a nice space. Now its just overpriced and not worth the money.

Room Tip: Do not get a suite. If you insist on staying here, spring for a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor. We’re sorry to see that your experience fell short of expectations. We express our very sincere regret for the displeasure you have experienced in our hotel.We like to thank you again for your review and we are truly sorry that this wasn't the vacation you had hoped for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I Would like to say that this hotel served as a perfect meeting place for our family of 45 plus members. We stayed here to celebrate our mother's 90th Birthday. They were able to accommodate her in a handicap room. We took family pictures, sang to her & served cake to everyone. We also played games and enjoyed family time together while we had great staff support.

Alexandra & Ruth we really appreciate you for all that you did to make our stay comfortable. Keep up the great job!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZ23A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

The many accolades you have given to our staff just blew us away, and knowing that you had a great stay with us celebrating your mother’s 90th Birthday, made our day! Thank you again for choosing us on this visit to South Padre Island, and our team promises to impress you with another memorable stay anytime you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I would never recommended this hotel to anyone. Pics are deceiving. Only 1st floor is remodeled. Elevators need to be replaced or fixed. Half the time they never stopped at your floor. Workers have poor customer service skills. Only positive out of it was its proximity to the beach. The breakfast was bland and had no flavor. Save yourself the wasted money and find a better hotel. There are plenty of better. options on the island. The La Quinta and the Hilton Garden Inn are also owned by the same owner.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank KristianV87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience at South Padre Island. We take pride in offering the highest level of service and being thorough in our check in processes, we always want our guests to feel welcome. We offer an exceptional island experience and apologize that our atmosphere did not fit your preferences. I will report your inconveniences to the appreciate management and make sure they all get addressed. Thank you for your comments and we hope you will give us another shot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

It was the 4th of July weekend. My youngest son few down from Portland, Oregon. I thought I would save a little money; the website said this dated hotel was remodeled. We got Room 201, a suite. It was small dark, awful. The view out of the west side of the building was of a moldy, dark stained, roof-top. We paid over $400, per night, more than what I spent on an efficiency in Paris, France! Negatives: all rooms that have not been remodeled (all rooms except those on the first floor); parking was free but you had to deal with scary security guards; mediocre free breakfast (the only decent coffee is at the Starbucks. Positives: free breakfast (it could probably keep you alive); free internet; slow but polite staff; Temper-pedic mattresses; beach front hotel. If you want your vacation to be special, spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else. Stay away from Suite 201.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room. Get coffee at Starbucks. Stay here only your room is free or you are despe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ffmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and observations regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and assure you they will be addressed. Your feedback is very important to us; I will be addressing your concerns with our team and work with them to eliminate these opportunities in the future. Thank you once again for reaching out and we hope to welcome you back if your travel plans return you to South Padre Island. Thank you again for the constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel itself was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. Our room was clean and in order on arrival. Did not have a beach front view, but the rear pool area had beach access right out the door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwells281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We’re pleased you like the hotel and friendly staff members. Glad you had the opportunity to spend some time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Husband and I stayed here while working with a realtor to see condos for sale. Room was nice, staff friendly. We were very busy, but loved being able to walk right out to the beach in the evening. Saw many vacationing families staying here, and all seemed to be enjoying themselves. Breakfast buffet was decent, even had a made-to-order omelette station. Great value, comfortable accommodations, and nice location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Kim,

Thank you for staying with us! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We’re happy to read you enjoyed the location and staff. We truly enjoyed your presence and would love to have your back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,554 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,490 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Property: La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing