We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was such a memorable vacation we did not want to leave and extended our stay by two days! Love the location, price and staff! Pretty awesome set up! Outdoor pool, hot tub, lighted walkway to the beach, pizza joint, bar, small gift shop with a few snacks, laundry on each floor. Quiet! Beds are actual tempur-pedic which were AWESOME! I now must have one after just having lumbar surgery! I have only been gone for a couple of days and already trying to see when we can return! Please make plans to visit!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank cahaden7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear guest,

We ecstatic you had a memorable vacation during your stay with us on South Padre Island! Not all guests, even the most satisfied, are as thoughtful as you have been to make it a point to honor us for our comfortable setting. It's awesome to read you loved our beds, pool, location, and staff. It's been a honor having you and we can't wait until you return for another great time in SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

The room was attractive with a balcony overlooking the ocean, with a walkway to the beach. Beds were comfortable The pool was under the balcony so it was noisy, but it's a beach resort so to be expected. The hotel room floor was sandy and showed some party wear. The bad thing was the bar, where we ordered Tangueray and tonic. It was not Tangueray and when we questioned it, the bartender responded by disappearing out of sight where he makes drinks and pouring some more of the same rot-gut alcohol in our drinks which cost $18.75 for 2 of them. We had fun watching other people pass their drinks around trying to figure out what exactly was in them. If you go, definitely skip the bar.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mesquite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay at the La Copa Beach Hotel. We’re delighted you enjoyed our location, your beds, and most of all, the beautiful scenery South Padre has to offer. However, we are very disappointed to hear about your experience at our bar. We will notify our bartenders of this and make sure that this won’t be an issue again. We appreciate you choosing us and hope you will again the next time you visit SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice view from room, room is very spacious and beds are very comfortable.
Lobby is interesting, amenities in hotel is good and there is STARBUCKS on site!!!
Great price for room and continental breakfast(made to order omelets) can't get any better.
Will stay here again

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank elli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate you and your spouse staying with us! We’re overjoyed you loved your amenities and your room. It was a pleasure accommodating the both of you. We’ll see you guys the next time you’re in SPI!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on Spring Break. Front desk was helpful, rooms were clean. The hot tub was kind of dirty and cold but otherwise everything else was great. Pool was heated. Great value. Will stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samuel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Samuel,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave a review of your experience at La Copa Inn on South Padre Island. We’re delighted to hear you had a good two night stay during spring break. We apologize about the hot tub and we will take care of this problem as soon as possible. Please come visit us again for another fun time in South Padre.

Best,
Aaron R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent one night at La Copa in February. Available parking was not to be had and there were only a couple handicap spots. On a very cold, wet night we ended up parking at the far end of the parking lot.The water coming from the sink tap in the room had a fishy taste. I did not sleep well as I was hot all night. In the AM, my husband discovered that the mattress was encased in a zipper plastic bag and the bed sheet was directly on the plastic...not mattress to separate the two. When we walked out to the beach through the pool area we discovered that some guests had already reserved the loungers with beach towels. We did have breakfast on the 4th floor. The omelets we had were delicious but the amount of noise that was created in the dining room with all the talking that was going on was deafening. I was disappointed in our one night and will not recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Rob,

We offer you our most sincere apology, on behalf of all of our staff, for your unfulfilled experience during your one night with us. We are sorry about the parking issue, however, we were at full capacity during February and that might explain why you had to park in the far end of the parking lot. Also, the proper management will also be notified to take a look at the water and mattress you mentioned. We hope you reconsider staying with us again for a more pleasant experience.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Third year staying at LaCopa. Excellent place--clean, , comfortable beds, updated, friendly friendly staff, wonderful manager! Heated pool, free drink in the evening for everyone, free full breakfast with made to order omelets. On the beach is the best! Love the people! Can hardly wait until we can come next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello guest,

Thank you for choosing us to stay with for the third year and sharing your feedback of your experience. It’s been an honor having you and glad your trip was very enjoyable. It’s wonderful you are returning next year to have an even better time. Thanks for choosing us and see you in next year!

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent 2 nights there along with two other couples. The room was nice, very comfortable beds and the staff was very friendly. My complaint is about the pool area. The pool is small and there are not near enough loungers and chairs to accomodate guests. At 9 a.m. all of the loungers would be "reserved" with towels, noodles, etc. The people supposedly using them would show up an hour or 2 later, and then disappear again at lunch for an hour or two. How rude! Next visit if I observe a lounger sitting empty for over an hour I will feel free to remove whatever is left there and occupy the chair myself.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank terdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and choosing us to stay with during your 2 night stay. We’re delighted to read about your La Copa Inn experience and overjoyed you loved our comfortable beds, friendly staff, and overall the hotel in general. We will take your concerns into consideration about the pool area and implement a system to avoid these problems. Overall, it was pleasure reading your review and would love to have you back the next time around. Until then take care and best wishes.

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,603 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,326 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
524 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $88 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing