We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pool problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent 2 nights there along with two other couples. The room was nice, very comfortable beds and the staff was very friendly. My complaint is about the pool area. The pool is small and there are not near enough loungers and chairs to accomodate guests. At 9 a.m. all of the loungers would be "reserved" with towels, noodles, etc. The people supposedly using them would show up an hour or 2 later, and then disappear again at lunch for an hour or two. How rude! Next visit if I observe a lounger sitting empty for over an hour I will feel free to remove whatever is left there and occupy the chair myself.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank terdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and choosing us to stay with during your 2 night stay. We’re delighted to read about your La Copa Inn experience and overjoyed you loved our comfortable beds, friendly staff, and overall the hotel in general. We will take your concerns into consideration about the pool area and implement a system to avoid these problems. Overall, it was pleasure reading your review and would love to have you back the next time around. Until then take care and best wishes.

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

I went during Spring Break last year and even though it was a lot of people, the staff was good. It was a fun hotel because of the Live "Pool Party" at the back near the beach. Only problem i had was we didn't get breakfast from the hotel and the super over protective security. Sometime felt like i was in jail and I'm a grown man but other than that it was a fun hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanksNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us you feedback regarding your at La Copa Inn. We are ecstatic you and friends had a fun stay enjoying spring break. However, on spring break we do tighten up out security because we are aware of how hectic times can be during that week. It was our pleasure hosting you during your stay last year. Thank you for choosing La Copa Inn on SPI and we would love to see you back for another great time.

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just spent our second year at La Copa on SPI. For anyone wanting to get away from the cold for awhile you should check out their website. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are very competitive and you get huge full breakfast every morning and a happy hour drink every day free gratis. The amenities are there and a pool. It is a place here people get together to play cards or whatever. La Copa is located at the south end of the 'strip', just off the bridge and near some great restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Greeting Keith,

Thank you for taking the time to write a quality review; we really appreciate your comments said about your stay at La Copa Inn on South Padre Island. We’re thrilled you loved your stay for the second year and glad you found all of our amenities very accommodating. Thank you for choosing us year after year and we hope you will be back next year!

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

You walk in to the hotel, and you immediately notice, this place has had some MAJOR renovations. Honestly, many of them look and feel good.

We got the keys to the group of rooms we booked. Opened the rooms to find a pleasant looking modern space, with (wait for it) Tempurpedic beds! The futons in the room are also a nice touch for large groups. The rooms also have 46 inch tvs with HD digital cable service.

Now, here we're some odd areas that need to be looked at. First, the toilets are horrible, the handle to flush was literally falling off. The shower heads are bad too, they look like the $7 special ones from Walmart. This last one had me beyond words.

In one of our rooms, the TV did not really work at all. The front desk did very little about it. So finally I go into that room to look at it, and the cable from the wall to the cable box was plugged into the TV instead!! So the cable box couldn't even get a feed! So I switched this around, and then the remote still didn't work! So I found the RF blaster (dongle) that the hotel or TWC cable placed in the back of the TV. I placed it correctly, and everything worked. By the way, I did the same RF blaster trick on another room TV too! So basically I spent an entire night playing cable guy.

That same night, one of our rooms had a noise complaint, so I went to look at it. And I thought it was the room above. Nope. Then I went to the room above that, and guess what? There was an obnoxiously loud wedding reception up there! I called the front desk to complain, and they said, "Well, they have the space until 11:30." No offer for a different room or an apology. Seriously, they don't care about the 90% of the property that probably wants to sleep?

The pool has numerous code violations (I used to be a pool operator and inspector). Definitely wouldn't let my kids swim here.

Now the dining options, or lack thereof. La Copa advertises online that they offer "dining at the hotel." Dining there entails an okay breakfast option in the morning. But the "restaurant" is actually a bar that has 5 different food options that are mostly appetizers and overpriced beer and mixed drink options.

In the end, if you're looking for a nice, "resort-like" feel, skip this. The other end of the Island has a Holiday Inn Express and a Hilton Garden Inn with a real restaurant.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Vintagewhitestrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira P, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We're very sorry the front desk staff couldn't assist you with the cable problems or the noise complaint. We will let the proper management know about your issues so that we don't encounter these or similar problems in the future.

On behalf of the entire staff, we apologize for your unfulfilled experience and hope you give us another chance to prove to you that we can ensure a pleasant stay.

Sincerely,
Mira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in your hotel many times throughout the years. We recently stayed 11/25 & 26, 2013. We loved the new look and your staff was excellent and professional. They went the extra mile in assisting us and were very friendly.

There were several of your employees I wanted to mention, however, I lost the card I had written the names down on. I do remember Jasmine and her dedication to doing whatever she could to make our stay a GREAT one. There was another lady working along side her and she was just as professional and courteous to us during our stay, as well as a gentleman at the front desk.

All your service members were very helpful and they should be acknowledged too, especially the front desk personnel. The construction workers were very nice, even though they had to stop their work when people walked by or were pushing their luggage racks.

Please let these employees know the good job they are doing and I feel they should have the recognition they deserve. Please let them know what a great job they are doing.

Thank you very much, and I hope this email doesn't go unnoticed. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone of any age, with or without children and pets. The breakfast is especially one of the many amenities I enjoy, it is very fresh and tasty!

Respectfully,

Rebecca and Robert Sigman
1523 Hewitt Drive
Houston, Tx 77018

McDonald.Rebecca@att.net

Room Tip: I personally like the ground floor if I'm not staying in beach view room. The hotel is just acr...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira P, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Rebecca and Robert,

We are very thankful and happy you took the time out to write such a nice review for La Copa. The staff is delighted you took notice in their helpfulness and professionalism. We'd also like to thank you for noticing the renovations and complimenting us on our breakfast.

Thanks for continuing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Mira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

After reading the reviews of the noise from the renovation we still took a chance at staying here. For the price it was pretty easy decision to take that chance. The hotel has changed hands and the new owners (owners of the Hilton property here) have invested a lot of time and money to upgrade this hotel to a great place to stay. The room was outstanding and very comfortable. The front desk told me they still had plans to change out the sinks and some other minor things in the rooms before they considered them complete. The internet worked good, the breakfast was incredible, the happy 2 hour will do you in with the three dollar margaritas on the rocks. I live in motels 100 nights a year and I have yet to see one that is perfect yet this property has experienced some bad reviews of late. It was quiet the time we stayed so not sure how much noise there is when it is busy will filter in from the halls but over all it has been a great experience on a well deserved vacation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room/floor that has been through remodeling over the next few months.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomstock07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira P, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We have worked really hard in renovating this hotel and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words about our breakfast and happy hour. We hope to see you soon on your next vacation!

Sincerely,
Mira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed over Thanksgiving. The hotel has been remodeled and it looks great. Great room and the customer service was outstanding. Breakfast included in room rate and it was very good. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Kathy,

Our La Copa Inn staff at South Padre Island is delighted to hear your Thanksgiving stay with us was enjoyable. We’re glad that you enjoyed our remodeling as it is for the benefit of our guests. We’d be more than happy for your return to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Aaron R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,595 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,543 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
184 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $89 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing