We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but slightly disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant but slightly disappointed.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed only 2 days. Very clean an close to the beach. Didn't like the power outage that lasted about an hour or more (we left because what good is it sitting in a pitch black room) The wifi is on an off an the tv remote doesn't work which doesn't matter anyways because most of the channels don't work either. (Guess we must of come at a bad time since there are renovations going on, front desk also never notified us saying the cable was being upgraded. So a guy just shows up saying he needs to come into our room) Cable still doesn't work. Overall, staff was friendly an even the random cable guy was nice. Just thought our first stay at La Copa would be a little more relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie37-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Greetings Sadie,

Thank you for your stay with us at La Copa Inn at South Padre Island. We deeply applogize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us including the power outage, malfunctioning wi-fi, and tv remote. The proper management will be notified so that the staff improves the communication to guests in regards to anything pertaining to their stay with us. We are sorry that your stay with us was not as relaxing as you would have expected and would be honored to have another shot and allow us to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    332
    136
    67
    77
See reviews for
431
325
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Although on the beach, this place is dangerous and ignorant of its guests. Why do I say this? When the power went out one night, the guests quickly learned how many building code violations were committed by La Copa. No exit signs were lit. All hallways were totally black. No generators in place. Truly shameful action by the hotel.

Further, the "free"breakfast was worthless.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Doccatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Valued guest,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to review our La Copa Inn hotel at South Padre Island. On behalf of all of the staff, I would like to take the time to apologize for your unpleasant stay with us. We will look into any malfunctioning exit signs so that we are better prepared for a power outage and reevaluate our power outage procedures. We truly hope you reconsider another stay with us and assure a more positive experience the next time.

Sincerely,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

When we got there; there was a roach crawling on the wall, my 8 yr old grandson killed it with his shoe, thought maybe it came from outside. Later we ordered pizza and my grandson said there is another one.I was about to call and complain but didnt want to move rooms ...so we didnt see anymore after that...breakfast was not appealing ...but ! The pool was enjoyable and we made the best of it ..lots of construction going on ..I hope it will be be better in the future. ..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinlife68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Treasured guest,

you for taking the time to review our hotel, La Copa Inn at South Padre Island. We offer our most sincere apology for your disappointing experience during your stay with us. The proper management will be notified about the insect problem so that we can eliminate that problem for future stays. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy the pool area and hope that you will consider staying with us again for an improved experience.

Best regards,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to South Padre for our honeymoon. I was very hesitant to stay at the La Copa because of some of the bad reviews, but had a friend stay here a couple times so thought I'd take her word for it, and I'm sure glad I did. When we walked into the front lobby, we were immediately greeted by the girl at the desk. She was very friendly and got us checked in 3 hrs early. The room we booked was a beach front view. Our room was very nice and roomy. The balcony was a little small as one review stated, but by no means would you have to sit sideways. It's better than no balcony at all! About the third night we were here, the power went out in the middle of the night. A pole caught fire and only our hotel lost power (what I heard anyway). A lot of ppl were complaining about it but I don't see how that's the hotels fault. They still managed to have a hot breakfast for their guests, candlelight and everything. It was a challenge showering in the dark, but we managed and when we came back to our hotel around 1, the electricity was back on. And speaking of their breakfast... Best continental breakfast I've ever had. They have a good variety of food, hot and cold. The condition of the hotel is not as bad as some ppl have said. There is some paint chipping on the walls, but if that's the worst of it, big deal. They are actually in the middle of doing some renovations and painting right now so it'll look brand new in no time. Our experience here has been great. We leave tomorrow and if we ever come to S Padre again, we will definitely stay at the La Copa.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jljohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Our La Copa Inn staff is delighted to hear that your stay with us during your visit to South Padre Island was great. The staff here is enthusiastic to provide an enjoyable trip for all of our guests. We’re glad you were able to enjoy your balcony and the view from your room. We’d also like to offer you our most sincere apology for the power outage, which is in fact beyond our control, and thank you for recognizing that. Having you back for another stay on your visit to South Padre would be of our utmost pleasure. Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

What would like to say that my first time experience in SPI was a blast, my family was amazed as walk into La copa.. The beautiful interior was so inviting. We greeted with a smile and quick checkin..La copa made me like a 5 star guest. We can't say enough about the wonderful staff at La copa.. my drive from dallas was well worth It. I will tell everyone about La copa!. Booking for fall 2014

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businessman367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

It is of great pleasure to hear that your stay with us at La Copa Inn at South Padre Island was a delight. Our staff is dedicated to provide excellent service so that our guests have an amazing experience on this beautiful island. We are glad to hear you will be returning. See you soon!

Thank you,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

On my review last year in October I stated that we had stayed a week and were planning to stay for a month this year and we did ! We stayed in a 2 room suite and it was wonderful since there was privacy to just relax after a beautiful day in the pool and at the beach and see the free movies that you can choose from their library. From October 1 through October 31st it was paradise .We have been staying at La Copa every time we go to SPI and that is for a week once or twice a year.We have traveled and stayed at many hotels ,but we would never stay anywhere else in SPI .The rooms are great,very clean .The staff is wonderful,always glad to accomodate your needs from the front desk to maid service,maintenance,breakfast room staff etc.We know most of them from staying there through the years and are always happy to see them and vice versa.We enjoyed our breakfast every morning where we had many choices,omelets made to your request of ingredients,freshly made waffles,bagels,tacos,muffins ,cereals,juices,etc.etc.It was great.The pool is always temperature controlled,the hot tub is very relaxing and both have lift chairs for persons that are unable to get in by themselves.The pool is ocean front with gazebos on each side where you can enjoy the view and feel the breeze of the ocean as you enjoy great drinks and food sold at very reasonable prices from La Copa Cabana,pure paradise ! The Hotel is being remodeled and is looking quite beautiful .La Copa is managed proficiently by Ms.Nubia Zaratte,we spoke with her when we arrived and when she saw that my health condition had changed , she instantly offered to make any changes in our suite to accommodate my needs ,it was not needed ,but this is just one example of how Ms. Zaratte will do everything she can to accommodate her guests needs and insure that they enjoy their stay in comfort. I could go on
and on about how great it is to stay at La Copa ,but it truly was the best,most wonderful month we have spent anywhere.Even before we left ,we were already planning our return next year for another month or will it be two ? Sylvia G.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice,of course the ocean front are great.We also loved our 2 room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello Silva!

It was a pleasure having you once again. We truly appreciate you choosing us year after year and this time staying for one whole month! We’re more than pleased you enjoyed our hotel, wonderful staff, quality breakfast, our temperature controlled pool, and the Cabana. We are glad to hear Mrs. Zaratte, the general manager, exceed your expectations. She does a superb job maintaining the hotel and her staff members. Thank you Sylvia for allowing us to host your family’s month long vacation and for taking the time to share your experience. It has been one great month. We will look forward to greeting you and your family the next time. Until then best wishes and take care!

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathis, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great vacation spot. good location on the beach.Beds were excellent. Will definitely go back here again next year.Staff very friendly and helpfulwith finding places to eat. Lots of shopping locations nearby the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Denise,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We're very glad that you enjoyed South Padre Island and our hotel as much as you did. We constantly work hard to ensure that all of our guests have a perfect stay. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you on South Padre Island again soon!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,587 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,523 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
668 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Property: La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing