We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third visit= dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Third visit= dissappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was out third time visiting this property. Our previous visits were pleasant. This time around not so great.
Well, I will start with the "bad" we got a large room facing the pool/ocean on ground floor. One would think good,huh? Well it was VERY loud at night. Like at all hours of the night. Appearantly, the pool is closed at 1000. (haha) BUT guests are allowed to sit around the pool and drink their own liquor.We have two kids and are use to noise. However, this noise could not be drowned out with television and fan on. I mean girls screaming to the point you were concerned for their safety. Oh and on our second night at 4 am, another guest lit a firework and set off the fire alarms. When informing the front desk, I got a oh well attitude-apathetic at best.
The positive is remodel of lobby to include gift shop. The location is great and rooms are huge with microwave and fridge. Breakfast is free and you will wait, ecspecially on weekends.
If you get a good rate, give it a whirl. Just be aware of back rooms toward pool-noisy if that is concerning for you/or you are a light sleeper. For some (young guests) it might be a plus!! Also if problems arise do not expect high level of support from the front desk.
I have always found the prices to be best directly booking on the property website.

Room Tip: For a quieter room steer clear of rooms near the back-pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your continuing patronage and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for it. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    325
    129
    64
    74
See reviews for
409
322
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Paid high season price for this horrible room. The bed was very good and that's the only good thing we can say. Free drinks were not. They don't even have a real bar. Not very clean and No...nada...zippo extras. In room. Ughhhhhh NEVER AGAIN we asked for a better room, no was the answer. Trashy feeling all around for almost 500 for 2 nights .

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The MLMCowgirl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sad to read about your experience staying with us. All of your concerns will be addressed and we apologize you didn't feel satisfied with your stay. Thank you for informing us of your experience you had at our hotel. We hope to service you in the future and again sorry for the inconveniences.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I'd like to say that I actually stayed here, but this review is of my attempt to both book a room, and then because of an accident on the way there, my frustration in cancelling the room. If you don't want to read a lengthy review, let me just say that this is absolutely the most frustrating hotel experience I've ever had, and it seems that they just don't care.

Because we had dogs with us, we booked by phone, months in advance because their online booking isn't clear about their pet policy. After numerous tries to reach by phone, we finally booked a room for 2 nights. I requested an email confirmation, but never received it. This was my second clue about how they do business. But hope springs eternal, and we proceeded with the trip.

Personal circumstances caused us to cancel our plans, so we started calling them to let them know we had to cancel. This was well before noon. Here's an idea: ANSWER YOUR PHONE, LA COPA!! We called countless times, verified the phone number to make sure we weren't misdialing. This hotel doesn't answer. Finally, at 7pm, someone picked up the phone. She claims that they had 'high call volume'. I'm calling BS on that! They were rude beyond description.
But wait, there's more! At 2am, my phone rings, and it's their night clerk wondering if we are still coming in! What? After the earlier calls, the desk clerk failed to cancel the reservation. Brilliant!! And now this moron is calling me at 2am, and then proceeds to hang up on me when I explained that I had already cancelled. Not an apology, not even a veiled attempt at any level of customer service. So, now that I am awake, I decided to dial him back. That was at 2am on a Sunday morning. I am writing this review 36 hours later, and they still haven't answered their phone, after more than 20 attempts. I dare you-- if you don't believe me, call them. See if they answer. They won't, trust me. They are perfect candidates for Hotel Impossible. This place needs a service makeover.

I wouldn't consider staying here. Camping in a tent on the beach seems like a preferable alternative.

La Copa should be rebranded as La Crappa.

I understand that the GM is someone named Nuvia. Repeated attempts to reach Nuvia have failed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aztoHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We can’t be more ashamed after reading this review. We are extremely sorry you had to deal with any of these inconveniences. We apologize for the telephone complications, however, we do handle a large amount of phone calls throughout the day especially during this time of the year with each call varying in time. Nevertheless, we are working on this to minimize experiences like yours. We are also very sorry for such a late phone call during the night. Our front desk should know better and not have called you so late. We have taken action and can assure you this won’t happen again. We are certain you will have different perception if you had stayed at our hotel with our new beautiful renovations to our hotel that is sure to please any guest.
I hope you at least consider staying with us the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kasson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had to smile to myself as I'd seen several reviews. And still in progress! A little dissappointed as I'd requested wc accessible and wasn't given when we checked in and not accommodating as we'd booked thru other site. However. Room was huge and worked well for us. It was ok. Clean. Nothing fancy. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for writing your review. We are ashamed to you were not provided wheel chair access upon checking in. Our entire hotel is wheel chair accessible therefore there is no excuse why you didn't have wheel chair access. We are currently looking into your concern and make sure this doesn't ever happen again. Aside from that, we are glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast. We enjoyed your presences and hope to see you back again soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed there for 5 days in May and had a enjoyable time.There was remodling going on but no big deal.The staff is very nice and helpful & the breakfast is great!!!!. The location of the hotel is also good its as soon as you enter the island. All in all a good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for you wonderful review of your experience staying at La Copa Inn. We are delighted to hear your stay with us was nothing less than amazing fun. We apologize about the renovations going on and appreciate you being very understanding about it. Thank you for choosing La Copa Inn during your 5 day stay and please come visit us again and have another enjoyable time in SPI.

Thank You,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great place to stay. We were there for 5 days...Great staff..and great breakfast also. Although they were doing some remodeling in the lobby it did nor distract anyone or take away from the pleasant attitude of the desk and service people. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay on the island. Great location just off the bridge and close to schlitterbahn Park. We will stay there next time. Pool was a little warm to make up for the cold water at the beach. Hot tub was being retiled while we were there so we could not get in it...pool was warm enough anyway. Beds were great.
Thanks for making our stay a great one.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. If all the rooms were like ours then any room would be good. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read a review like yours. Thank you very much for choosing La Copa Inn and taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, location, beach, and comfortable beds that made your 5 day stay with us an memorable one. We hope to see you again the next time you are in South Padre Island for another relaxing island experience.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My only complaint would be that the air conditioning did not work well in our room (top floor, a room near back elevator). The pool is heated, so that's nice for South Padre Island's cool evenings. Each evening we should have had two free drinks at happy hour, per our travel deal, but at check-in, we were only allowed one free drink. The pluses exceeded the very few negatives. I'd recommend La Copa again, and even stay there again ;=)

Room Tip: Nice heated pool- perfect for a May evening in SPI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SPITXGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We are ecstatic you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize about the air condition this inconvenience is unacceptable. Thank you for informing us of this issue. Overall we are thrilled you had a great stay and enjoyed our happy hour and yourselves. Thank you for choosing La Copa Inn and we hope to see you back soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Property: La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing