We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Copa was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located with easy access to the beach. However, the hotel standards are sub par. AC in the hall was out when we were there. Kids running up and down the halls at late ours of the night made me call the front desk and it took awhile for them to pick the phone up. The pool was crowded and there were some out of control teens jumping and splashing in the pool. The two gazebos by the pool were crowded with visitors from across the border and they had coolers and the whole thing looked like a picnic with no room for anyone else. There was no towel service provided at the pool either. During breakfast it was crowded and some people do not seem to respect lines for the food. We were there 4 days and it seems like they did not change the sheets of our beds because there was sand on them. Checking lines are long with only one person manning the registration desk and the parking lot is full with cars from across the border. If you leave to go shoping or dining you were lucky to find a spot when you return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent_Traveler683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

This trip was our first visit to South Padre Island so this was our first stay at La Copa Inn. We stayed there for 4 nights from 8/14 - 8/18. I think this hotel needs a serious major renovation. The hallway AC was not functioning so in certain areas of the 4th floor hallway, hot air blew out of the vents. During our 4 days stay, there is no one care to fix the hallway AC on 4th floor. Little kids kept running along the hallway. We could also hear the next door guests pounding on the wall for 2 hours late into night. The room cleaning service was very slow. Two days out of our 4 night stay, the maid didn't show up until I called the front desk between 1:30 - 2:00 p.m. There is no clean towel available when the maid came to clean the room. Later when they brought in the towels to us. They all look very dingy. A birthday banquet was going on during our first night at this hotel. The conference room where the banquet was held was at the top floor (4th floor) and we were staying on the 3rd floor, right beneath the conference room. We could hear loud music and foot traffic coming from above our ceiling. We finally spoke to the manager and switched to another room. However, this room was missing a sleeper sofa bed. Kids on this floor were running around a lot, too. The carpet was filthy. The breakfast was good but there was always a long line for every type of breakfast food. The crews didn't have enough in their supply to refill some items, such as the fruits. The pools were crowded and the pool water was murky. I didn't even dare to set my foot in the pool. The only good thing was the easy access to the beach from the hotel through the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels for backup.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

August may be their busiest time of year. It was really crowded, but nice folks. There was a charming wedding on the beach at sunset. Beds were comfortable. The pullout twin was not. Breakfast was adequate. The staff at breakfast were working very hard to provide for everyone. This was our family's first time in South Padre and this hotel was a good starting point for getting acquainted with the island. I would recommend this place if you can get a cheap rate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzzwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

No problem with the WIFI worked everyday we were there. Had a good size room 2 Q-beds sofa sleeper, microwave & refrigerator in room. Pros: great mattress (temperpedic type) slept great, nice access to beach over broad walk, able to rent beach umbrellas & chairs for $25 per day 10 to 6, ok typical breakfast waffles (Texas shaped waffles), toast, bagels etc., wifi, no problem getting extra towels for the pool. Cons: Small pool when hotel is full with families lots of children wall to wall in pool. Be ready for lots of families with lots of children. I booked several months early and got a good price on the rooms. While there some guests mentioned paying $180.00+ per night. Not sure I'd pay that much for this hotel feel I'd probably go ahead and pay a little more for a different hotel if I was paying that much. Overall we didn't spend that much time there mostly just to sleep and we did get a good nights sleep. If the price was right would return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We took a chance & decided to stay here because it was beachfront & affordable. We could not be happier with our choice. The staff was accomodating & the rooms were clean. We were aware of some of the bad reviews but we are happy to say we had a great time. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdv0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Good choice if you want to have the beach near at a low cost, but lack of good facilities, cleanliness, could be better experience if the hotel has better installations.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

cons:
the pool is nice. 90% of the people on the beach and in the hotel are from mexico. because of the drug cartel wars on the otherside the people over there rather spend there summers here then there own resorts. so would i! lots of children running around. this is not a quiet romantic get away if you dont mind 3 to 4 little 4 your olds sitting next to you and your other in the jacuzzi. the jacuzzi is rough it feels like sand paper grit in it.

as we arrived I had to have the maids come in and resanitize our toilet because it smelled like pee.

the ac does not get that cold so your best bet is to turn on the ceiling fan and put up the ac to the hi mode. that shud take care of it.
The jacuzzi did not work when we were there but i later found out the day we left they fixed it.
The tv is small and not a flat screen.
The snack bar drinks have very little alcohol
Do not get an ocean view unless you want to hear kids playing and yelling in the pool. the beach view rooms look nice but loud i would suspect from the pool below. the building only has 4 flours.

The (hotel guests)people from mexico seamt to have an attitude and "most" of them were not courteous. You can say "hi" or "hello" " good morning" or "excuse me" and they dont respond and give you a look like you offended them or they just simply ignore you like your worthless. I am hispanic and i do not care for rude people. (whether they are not my ethnicity or they come from my own heritage.)

pros:
The room were nice and the beds were very comfortable.

the beach is walking distance!

for the price i think it was to hi. it is worth maybe $150 a night.

they dont have a full kitchen do dont expect to order a steak or BLT at 2 in the morning.

other then that the place is nice. your better visiting during sept when mexico goes back and the kids are in school on the weekdays.

Room Tip: beach view is not worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comakozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,597 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,545 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
186 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $89 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing